We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual and eclectic menu choices, hit or miss sometimes but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Indigo Grill

Indigo Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Indigo Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 4,717 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Fusion, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cedar
Transit: Trolley stop at Little Italy
Description: Located in the heart of Little Italy featuring innovative modern Latin décor and a warm ambience create the perfect setting for sharing food and stories.
Here, There & Everywhere
Level Contributor
85 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Unusual and eclectic menu choices, hit or miss sometimes but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good food, some unusual combinations, some unusual choices trying to pass off as authentic mexican, southwestern or tex mex maybe, but tasty none the less... although some are really hit or miss.

IMO the sure things are the Pipian Brie, Squash Soup, Pork Ribs, the veggie something growing, the pork porterhouse and the flat iron steak w/chimichurri, trust me everything is tasty but with one of these dishes you'll have a sure thing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    118
    28
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massanutten, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best food we had in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

One of the best restaurant we ate in while visiting San Diego. The food servings were delicious and huge and it had a great atmosphere. Relatively expensive but worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 27bslash6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food Presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We happened by during Restaurant Week so got the Prix Fixe for $30 each. The food choices are interesting and a little different with lovely presentations. Tasted good, too. The wine list, however, was pathetic and not up to the food standards or what we expect in higher end restaurants. Overall, we enjoyed the meal and the service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeetheWorld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We had a good experience. Interesting menu.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an excellent meal at this unusual concept restaurant. We'd walked past Indigo Grill a hundred times heading farther into Little Italy but decided to give it a go on a birthday. It was a good choice.

The menu shifts with the seasons, has intriguing choices, service was attentive. We opted to sit outside where warmers will keep you comfortable on a cool evening. The main dining area looks a little cramped. An appetizer of seasonal root vegetables with interesting sauces and condiments was a hit. We had pork and chicken entrees. Imaginative. Delicious. Portions are large. Good drinks menu.

Cuisine is supposedly native American influenced but there are a lot of unusual combinations and influences. A definite change of pace from all the pasta and pizza in the neighborhood. Open Table reservations, occasional special pricing. High on our list for a return visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skagittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is by far my favorite restaurant. The food is interesting (think fusion) and delicious. Two of you will spend about $100 for dinner and one round of drinks--but believe me, it's worth it! Try the pork ribs and you'll see what I mean.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlootsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Grill also viewed

 

Been to Indigo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing