We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple place, fresh delicious fish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitch's Seafood

Mitch's Seafood
Ranked #39 of 4,698 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple place, fresh delicious fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a small, casual restaurant where you stand in line to give your order, seat yourself and they bring your food. The fish and the simplest preparations seem to be best. The crab cakes were two large patties barely held together with mayonnaise, no filler. Rich, most and absolutely delicious. The wahoo on the "daily catch" list was a very large portion of beautifully grilled fish. The seafood stew had lots of assorted fish and seafood in a light tomato broth, but I really could have used some seasoning in the broth. These entree dishes ran a bit over $15 each. There are less expensive items like fish tacos and sandwiches under $10. It's less hectic here than at Ocean Seafoods next door.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 13dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    184
    39
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a fresh fish taco and a beer on the rail.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to Mitch's a few times now and after my fishing trip I headed over for a couple of fresh wahoo fish tacos and a cold beer while my fish was being unloaded from the boat,,delicious and the price is right.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stoped here with some friends I met while waiting to go on a 3 day fishing trip. Had the special fish tacos. Had mine made with Wahoo and they were great. Sitting at the outdoor counter overlooking the harbor was great.

Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orland Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The fish and shrimp we ordered were horrible and the iced tea tasted more like Kool-aid. Definitely not a seafood restaurant I would recommend ! I am surprised to see all the raves about this place too !

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
409 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great fish, lots of fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

After spending a week in Baja looking for Yellowtail, we were thrilled to see it fresh on the menu here at Mitch's. It was absolutely delicious and we would have been delighted with a little more fish and a few less fries. The cole slaw was tasteless.

It was lovely sitting at the outdoor counter overlooking the harbor and fishing vessels. The ambience and fish were memorable. The price was decent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catsforkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitch's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Mitch's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing