We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value in a luxury hotel”
Review of Grant Grill

Grant Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Grant Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #284 of 4,771 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Fourth Ave.
Description: The Grant Grill offers a fresh approach to fine dining, elevating California cuisine with seasonal inspirations and creative execution. Start your day with signature breakfast dishes such as the South of the Border Chicken Migas. Meet colleagues for a business lunch that includes the Grant Grill's famous Mock Turtle Soup. Celebrate a romantic date night dinner savoring the 38 Day Dry Aged Ribeye with the Sommelier's selection of wine pairing. No matter what brings you to Grant Grill, we guarantee a memorable dining experience. From the sumptuous surroundings set inside a National Landmark to the fresh California cuisine, Grant Grill carries a tradition of excellence throughout. Renowned for shaking up some of the nation's best cocktails, the adjoining Lounge boasts a unique Gaslamp Quarter nightlife experience. The stars of the Lounge menu are Grant Grill's signature, hand crafted cocktails which include their very own 100 Day Barrel Aged Centennial Manhattan and a rotating collection of seasonal concoctions like the holiday's "Smashing Pumpkin" (as featured on The Food Network).
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible value in a luxury hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Incredible waffle Sunday brunch (with all the other standard food of a brunch) with $5 bottomless mimosas. Excellent quality appetizers at half price when they have happy hour starting at 4 p.m. Also try their soup specialty that goes back decades - I think it's called 'mock' soup - and they add a dash of optional brandy at your table if you want - very classy and very tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    86
    39
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“WOW.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I found this restaurant thanks to Trip Advisor. I eat out quite a bit due to business travel and this is definitely on my top 5 experiences. The restaurant is exquisite - old married with modern. Fancy and casual at the same time but definitely not stuffy. Our server, Melanie, provided the best wait service I've ever experienced. She knew the menu like she wrote it herself and made fantastic recommendations. Drinks were generous and delicious. Food was beautifully presented and tasted even better.

If you like classy dining, don't miss this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The impressive menu is small but very creative. The food, both appetizers and entres are wonderful, especially the sauces. Service is professional but very pleasant and attentive but not hovering. The history and ambiance add to the adventure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Sunday Brunch!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of having a wonderful Sunday Brunch with my friends at the Grant Grill. The food was delicious and, even with all our modifications, it all came out just the way we wanted. Our server, the sweet and super polite – but charming – Augusto, did an amazing job and took such great care of us, even though he was clearly very busy. Great experience! We will be back soon to now try their brunch buffet!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Dined at the Grant Grill to celebrate my girlfriend's bridal shower/bachelorette party and it was SPECTACULAR!
The food was delicious and the presentation was superb!
A few days before we arrived I received a call from Alberto Hollman, a supervisor at the GG. He wanted to call just to make sure everything was set and ready for the evening we had planned. He really set up the evening for success!
Sydney greeted us at the door with a friendly smile! Sara H. and Jaime, cocktail servers, were very accomodating and sweet throughout the everning. Our server Sergio was incredible as was our busser, also named Sergio.
The manager Lindsey came to check on our table throughout the evening which was a nice touch.

I will definitely be back!!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYgalMB-yall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grant Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing