We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not many guests were seated when we looked in.....”

Trattoria Fantastica
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Fantastica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Date
Description: Many restaurants in Little Italy have become destinations, among them the Busalacchi family's Trattoria Fantastica.The rustic decor features a relaxed country-style feel throughout the restaurant, including the delightful patio. The wonderfully welcoming atmosphere celebrates yet another delicious Sicilian food lineup, including wood-fired pizzas and all that you would expect from an authentic Italian menu. The terrific entrees show the Sicilian influence, and fill the restaurant with great aromas.Wood-fired pizzas are popular beginnings in this authentic Italian country setting. Enjoy a taste of Italy with an assortment of fabulous pasta dishes. Patio dining is available.
san diego
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not many guests were seated when we looked in.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

and that can be a clue but it looked nice, clean and tastefully done so we chanced it. Service was good, the wine was good, and the food was quite good. I had pasta with clams and scallops and we shared a nice dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Ciao Rick!

We are really happy that you took a chance on us, and even happier that you enjoyed our food, wine and service! Please join us again soon...maybe for our Tuscan Tuesday (50% off all bottles of wine)!!

Sincerely,
Management at Trattoria Fantastica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    120
    51
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nice meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stopped here for dinner by myself one night while undecided on what I'd like to eat, but Little Italy was close to my hotel. Friendly server, busy restaurant. Chose the daily special, seafood risotto with peas and saffron sauce. The food was fast coming out, and quite tasty, but not the most amazing meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for stopping by our restaurant on your visit to San Diego! We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and our service, and hope to see you back next time you are in town! We really appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,
Management at Trattoria Fantastica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We hit here a little before 7pm on the Saturday after July 4th. No reservations. We had about a 30 minute wait but went next door to the bakery for a glass of wine. The food was very good and the interior was comfortable. They were busy but it took no time to be served. And the locals were eating here as well so it's not just a "tourist" place. We enjoyed it. AND, the pizza place next door, Fillippi's, was slammed with around 35 people outside waiting to get it. I'm sure they're good but we made the right choice to try Trattoria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TailgaterTray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are happy that you waited to dine with us, and even happier that you enjoyed your experience here!! Next time you are in town, we would love it if you stopped by to see us again!!

Sincerely,
Management at Trattoria Fantastica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilleHeidi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Half off wine bottles on Tuesday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have eaten at several spots in Little Italy and this one is our favorite. My husband had an amazing eggplant Parmesan and I had the butternut squash ravioli. So flavorful. We lucked out by coming on a Tuesday because all wine bottles are half off so we got a 78.00 bottle for less than 40.00. We would never buy an 80.00 bottle of wine, so it was a real treat for us. It is connected to a little bakery where you can go to pick out a dessert and they had live music which was nice. Great seating inside or on the patio. Excellent service and hands down our favorite place in Little Italy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilleHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

We are so happy that you stumbled upon our Tuscan Tuesday and able to enjoy a delicious bottle of wine with our tasty food! We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again soon for another great experience!!

Sincerely,
Management at Trattoria Fantastica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just under the Little Italy sign, the Trattoria Fantastica was fantastic. Best seafood Alfredo I have ever had. Menu is diverse with several specials every evening. Staff was very helpful and as most were Italian, the atmosphere was like being abroad. Good, but not great, desserts - a little disappointing, but I would highly recommend a dinner there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Ciao Tim!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience here, from the food to the authentic Italian entertainment we staff as our servers! Please come back for a visit the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,
Management at Trattoria Fantastica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Fantastica also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Fantastica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing