We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm....”

Trattoria Fantastica
Ranked #237 of 4,834 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Date
Description: Many restaurants in Little Italy have become destinations, among them the Busalacchi family's Trattoria Fantastica.The rustic decor features a relaxed country-style feel throughout the restaurant, including the delightful patio. The wonderfully welcoming atmosphere celebrates yet another delicious Sicilian food lineup, including wood-fired pizzas and all that you would expect from an authentic Italian menu. The terrific entrees show the Sicilian influence, and fill the restaurant with great aromas.Wood-fired pizzas are popular beginnings in this authentic Italian country setting. Enjoy a taste of Italy with an assortment of fabulous pasta dishes. Patio dining is available.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Late meal of caprese salad with the most delicious balsamic I have ever tasted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One wanted to lick the plate!! Melt-in-your-mouth bread (kept refreshed). Exquisite fettuccine alfredo -- melt in your mouth. Excellent, friendly waitstaff and head seater. Highly recommend!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beaniecoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Beaniecoll,

Grazie grazie grazie! We are grateful that you enjoyed our food and our staff so much! Next time you are in town, stop in for some more love! You can even lick the plate...we won't judge. ;)

Sincerely,

Management at Trattoria Fantastica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Trattoria Fantastica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 270 of 402 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a frittata here, crepe thin and so delicious ... The coffee is very good and the service was quick and courteous.love it!

Thank karinnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Ciao Karinnat!

We really appreciate your great review on our breakfast! Hopefully you can stop in and check out our lunch or dinner sometime soon!

Happy Spring!

Management at Trattoria Fantastica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The menu offers a good variety of Italian food and solid no carb options. Reasonable wine list. Great service and ambiance. Heated outdoor seating space is comfortable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheDenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Beartrax79,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your authentic Italian experience, from food to our raspy-voiced Sicilian server! Next time you are in town, please stop by for a visit!

Eye of the tiger!

Management at Trattoria Fantastica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stopped by Little Italy on the way back to the airport. We sat outside under the heaters and enjoyed watching traffic going back and forth. Our waiter, who sounded like Mickey from the Rocky's movies, took very good care of us. Tuesday nights have a deal where all bottles of wine are half price.

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals, and the portions were satisfying but not too huge. I had the saltimbocca and it was delicious. If I ever go back, I'd like to try some of their seafood dishes.

If you are in Little Italy, I do recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beartrax79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so glad that you enjoyed our food and our authentic Sicilian server, raspy voice and all!! We hope to see you back next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Management at Trattoria Fantastica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

With so many restaurants on India St. in San Diego's Little Italy it may be hard to go wrong, but this is a gsuranteed hit. Great food and service. Enjoy!!!"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie B, Manager at Trattoria Fantastica, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind words!! We appreciate your enthusiasm toward our restaurant, and hope to see you back soon!!!

Sincerely,
Management at Trattoria Fantastica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Fantastica also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Fantastica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing