We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop
Ranked #5 of 148 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The dark chocolate espresso sundae- I've never had anything quite like it. Delicious and delivered with friendliness and cheer

Helpful?
Thank ButimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    124
    50
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gilbert, az
Level Contributor
142 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“If I could give ten stars I would”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Having eaten at Ghirardelli in another city, this was a must try for us. And without any doubt, the ice cream is to die for. Our family shared a sundae and a banana split (made the way we wanted) and well, it was just blissful. The shop is very clean and nice as well. Ghirardelli Ice Cream in San Diego is now on our must-do list when we visit San Diego. Can't wait to go back. Yum!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank memberat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, KY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Remember...it's ice cream”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Ok so I've eaten ice cream everywhere. Ghirardelli's is good but not as great as I was expecting. I've has Bruster's Ice Cream and it's just as good. Go to Cincinnati and eat Graeter's and it's as good or better. So all I'm saying is remember....it's ice cream. I haven't tasted too many that aren't good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saalfeldk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not that great”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Maybe I just don't get it. some people rave, and admittedly the chocolate is good, but not heavenly, and justifying the price. For the price you'd expect better/more.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Chocolate and ice cream Heaven!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you are looking for a bit of self indulgence or comfort eating look no further.This is everyones idea of an old fashioned ice cream parlor with chocolate on top.Fabulous sundaes with melted chocolate.Lots of chocolate to buy as well.If you visit and indulge while on vacation the calories do not count at all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanwManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing