We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop

Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop
643 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6915 (Downtown)
619-234-2449
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 127 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
544 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you like ice cream then this is the place for you. We lived in California for six years and I swear that out of all the things there were to love, this is what my husband misses most!

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    106
    46
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome American Style Sundae”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stopped by every night before we head back to hotel. And my kid like the friendly server and free chocolate most!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JH7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rock n Roll post race reward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What could be better than a huge Ghirardelli Hot Fudge Sundae as a reward surviving a marathon? Free samples of their best chocolates make the short wait even sweeter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nursebcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seriously just an everyday sundae”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The product couldn't look any mor different than the picture unless you didn't use ice cream at all. I mean this is ice cream so it's still tasty.. But for $9 bucks it should be more than average. I won't pay that again. Go for the chocolate squares and pick up a half gallon of Safeway brand and some sauce on the way home. You won't know the difference.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgcamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The sundae with brownie in the bottom is to die for! I love te outside lights, too. It's open late so that's super awesome if you suffer a sudden urge for delicious high- quality chocolate :D

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clomeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing