We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome American Style Sundae” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop

Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop
Ranked #3 of 127 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
1 review
“Awesome American Style Sundae”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stopped by every night before we head back to hotel. And my kid like the friendly server and free chocolate most!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JH7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    106
    45
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Rock n Roll post race reward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What could be better than a huge Ghirardelli Hot Fudge Sundae as a reward surviving a marathon? Free samples of their best chocolates make the short wait even sweeter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nursebcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seriously just an everyday sundae”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The product couldn't look any mor different than the picture unless you didn't use ice cream at all. I mean this is ice cream so it's still tasty.. But for $9 bucks it should be more than average. I won't pay that again. Go for the chocolate squares and pick up a half gallon of Safeway brand and some sauce on the way home. You won't know the difference.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgcamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The sundae with brownie in the bottom is to die for! I love te outside lights, too. It's open late so that's super awesome if you suffer a sudden urge for delicious high- quality chocolate :D

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clomeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Chocolate! Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

No trip to the Gaslamp Quarter in San Diego is complete without a stop at Ghirardelli Chocolate! It's not only a chocolate candy shop. They also serve ice cream.

That being said, we come home with bags of chocolates. Enough for gifts for everyone. All of our family enjoys Ghirardelli Chocolates. My favorite, the sea salt caramels. Delicious!

Tip: They usually have deals, if you buy more than one item or so, you get a discount on the second or third item.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AZcartrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing