We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty tasty ice cream”

Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop
Ranked #5 of 152 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty tasty ice cream”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by Ghirardelli's after a long day out in San Diego as the look of the ice cream caught our eye. Very glad that we did. Not only was there a huge choice of flavours to be had, the few we managed to taste were amazing.

Not only was the ice cream fantastic but the small chocolate a available to buy tasted gorgeous. (Especially the spiced pumpkin ones mmmmmm)

Service was fast and the prices were very reasonable when you take into account the prime location.

Would definitely recommend stopping by, sharing a large sundae, and watching the world go by. Not really any better way to relax.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    126
    51
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream and Sundae”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am usually not a big fan of ice cream, but ended up coming to this shop every day during our short stay in San Diego. The chocolate ice cream and the strawberry sundae are just so yummy.
Also liked the decor of the shop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qipao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Chocolate”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Delightful Ice Cream and the smell in the store was fabulous! We had dessert here right after having sushi and martinis at the Ocean Room across the street.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tracyd1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

What's not to love - ice cream, chocolate, candy...... great place to get dessert after dinner in the gaslamp district.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dhodges519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So hard to choose which ice cream to get!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is in the heart of Gaslamp Quarter which means the location couldn't be better. We were in San Diego for the first time and only for a long weekend so we tried to walk around and explore as much as possible. After all that exploring, what better way to end the evening than with a hot fudge sundae?!?
It has tons of options from banana splits, to strawberry cheesecake sundaes, and even Ghirardelli chocolates on sale in the front. I highly recommend having a hot fudge sundae and sitting outside on the patio while people watching in the busy Gaslamp Quarter late at night. You won't regret it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NurseJenn422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing