We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip”

Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop
Ranked #5 of 151 Dessert in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Downtown
Reality
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hubby, 2 kids & myself went here while on vacation- never had been before. Really enjoyed it!! Yummy!!! Clean & cute- if I lived local I'd have a bday party there... I took tons of cute photos. Atmosphere is that of an old time soda shop!! I would go again- and recommend to all!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourGuideShawnaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    128
    52
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florissant, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“we only bought candy”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

we only bought candy, and did not enjoy any of the ice cream. The sales staff were all very knowledgable about their products. They were able to point out good values to us as well. Staff were all extremely friendly and polite too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We always visit Ghihradeli. Hot Fudge Sundae is the best you have ever had. A little pricey, but a fun atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FamilyDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Most excellent ice cream and chocolate!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The lines might get long in the summer or during big events (like Comic-con), but Ghiradelli's shop is hard to beat and not to miss if you're a fan of amazing ice cream and/or chocolate. We stopped in for a post-lunch dessert and while there was a fairly good line, we were able to find a table for two and we were served within 10 minutes. I also like the way the staff are dressed in retro uniforms and were witty when interacting with us. The products are a bit pricier than going to a Baskin-Robbins or wherever but this is a better experience, and the quality of the food is superior.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valkyrie_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive, but delicious”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We walked here after dinner on a Saturday night. They were pretty busy, but we ordered within 5 minutes of arriving. I got a waffle cone with chocolate ice cream. It was absolutely delicious, but pretty expensive. Next time I'd go with the brownie sundae or a milkshake, even though they are about $10.

Service was great. Lots of employees working hard to clean off the tables and making room for the large crowd.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 423VOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing