We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School DIner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Corvette Diner

Corvette Diner
Ranked #91 of 4,722 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rock n' Roll, burgers and shakes rule at the Corvette Diner! A '50s throw-back, with sassy waitresses in poodle skirts and bouffant hair-dos. It's more than just a place to eat, it's a destination.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Old School DIner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

If your nastalgic for the 50's and 60's, this a nice place to visit with the kids. Serivice is good and the burgers and shakes are pretty good. They have a game room off to the side for kids to have a little fun while waiting for food or burn off their food. It is in the old NTC center so it may be hard to find since all the the buildings look alike. I miss the old location in Hillcrest but this location has better parking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    170
    79
    28
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No reservations here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

They don't take reservations so if you are here at prime time dinner hour plan on waiting, especially if your party is bigger than 4. We waited for what seemed like forever. The kids were happy to play in the arcade for a while, but even they grew hungry and just wanted to eat. Plan your visit for less busy times the diner is cute and the food was good, but the wait has us thinking we probably won't go back, unless it is a school day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kickback to the 50's and 60's.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Location, food awesome, ambiance, poodle skirts and all! Service/ staff was excellent. Keep doing it right!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chucky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Let me start this review by saying we were visiting friends in San Diego before a cruise and they took us to Corvette Diner after our flight arrived for lunch. I was not really expecting to much, but I have to say it was really nice and the food was very good. The waitstaff was very helpful and put us in a room separated from most of the noise so we could talk to our friends. My wife and I split the Hogan's Hero Hoagie and it was very very good. Then we each got a milkshake. The milkshake was the best milkshake I have had since I was a kid in the 50's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff4798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
241 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“What a fun place.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here after a long day at LegoLand. The kids were rejuvenated by the fun atmosphere. The waiters and waitresses sing and dance 50's era songs. Great burgers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TribTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corvette Diner also viewed

 

Been to Corvette Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing