We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think of it as Mexican”
Review of Candelas - CLOSED

Candelas
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: J Street
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't think of it as Mexican”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you have a craving for Mexican food then don't go here. However, you are looking for unique food dishes with an Euro-Mexican inspired flair then check this place out. You will have a difficult time finding these entrees anywhere. Their salads are also tasty. Very attentive to empty glasses and the server was terrific at pouring water without getting in your way or knowing he is filling your glass with water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice romantic dinner”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

my boyfriend and i when to eat for valentine the food was great the service was great too it was a very romantic dinner with my honey the only bad is we wanted the one in the bay but it was reserved for a wedding so they were booked they only had in the outside maybe next time we can get the on in the bay but aside from that it was great thanks

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrea_romero25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fair Mexican food with wonderful view”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was looking for a Mexican restaurant and the concierge at the hotel told me this was very good. The food was fine. Nothing really unforgettable, but fair. Maybe we sould have tried fish instead of Mexican plates. However the location was superb even in a rainy winter night. I could only imagine how beautiful should be it in a warm summer night at this restaurant located on the shore beach of Coronado Island from where you can see San Diego skyline. So at least for the magnificent view it was worth coming here (and my valuation is mainly driven by the view, not by the food!!!)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best harbor view in town”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely top notch view of downtown San Diego and the harbor.... Candelas offers very good gourmet Mexican-inspired food. For the quality of food the prices are quite reasonable. View of the ferry landing and pedestrian traffic a nice plus. Parking is easy to obtain nearby. Favorites of mine include the sea-bass in grape sauce, and the chicken chipotle.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Mexican”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very good Mexican fusion restaurants. I would go back to this place. Great date spot, or just for hanging out with friends

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candelas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing