We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST”
Review of Caffe Bella Italia

Caffe Bella Italia
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Bella Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #427 of 4,764 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Cross street: Haines Street
Description: "Your Corner of Italy in Pacific Beach" is the motto of Caffe Bella Italia- a charming restaurant where locals and Italians love to dine. The service is detailed and friendly. The interior speaks softly and envelops the customers in warm earth colors with a Mediterranean touch. This is authentic Italian cuisine served with great pride and beautiful presentation by chef and owners who hail from Napoli, Italy. At Caffe Bella Italia you can certainly enjoy a good wine with your dinner. Our list offers excellent wines at reasonable prices, most of them imported directly from Italy. JOIN US ON TUESDAY AND SUNDAY FOR HALF OFF BOTTLES OF WINE
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Little Italy has many restaurants but this is the absolute best. The food is awesome, the service great and the atmosphere is okay. It is a small place that offers delicious meals.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BTPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    50
    18
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caribbean
Level Contributor
194 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We reserved via open table just a few hours beforehand on a Saturday night and were able to get a table for after 8.15. We were greeted and seated nicely, outside which was a plus, but then after being served water and given the menus, we were left seated for almost 30 minutes before smeone came to take our order...several waiters were whizzing around but we seemed invisible in the center of the room. I am guessing each thought we were someone else's station? Anyway, finally a somewhat "I am holier than thou because I have an Italian accent" came over; sorry for that statement but all of us got the same feeling...all the other waiters we had serving the courses, bread etc. didn't have any attitude and were friendly and polite. Aside from this, the food was delicious, was served quickly and hot..just excellent. Special mention for the fresh mozarella and zucchini - delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natmicstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This is a slice of Italy in Pacific Beach area!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I found this restaurant through Trip Advisor and Open Table. We were staying on the beach, and it was a healthy 20 minute walk. We had a reservation, had requested outdoor seating, and the table was ready immediately. Our waiter was darling, with an accent, and I enjoyed it when he came to our table (my husband thought it was funny). We had the calamari fritti appetizer, and we polished it off. My husband had ordered Fettucine Fra Diavolo, but requested they make it less spciy. He thought it was perfect. I had Papardelle alla Napoletana. The pasta is homemade and you can tell a huge difference in taste. Makes me want to learn how to make my own noodles. The bread was plentiful and also very fresh. We had no room for dessert unfortunately because everything looked wonderful. I love Italian food, and this was a gem of a restaurant. One of my favorites on our 2 week trip down the Pacific Coast Hwy. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLeslieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic italian food”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband who is not a pasta eater, was eating ravioli from my plate. He ordered the veil, which was also good. The waiter spoke broken English, but was definitely Italian. Bottles of wine are half price on Sundays for sure and either Tuesday's or Thursday's. The portions were perfect and the wait was not long. My son had the pizza, which he is a very picky eater, and loved every bite. He ate it all! There were 5 in our party and we were all sampling each others plate. We loved it all! Don't let the area distract you, it was superb

Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love their pizza and great service too!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Family owned, charming, recently renovated, limited parking. Not your average pizza pie by any means, thin crust, quality ingredients. Would be a good date night although fine for families too.
Avoid busy dining times due to parking limitations. Cafe Bella Italia does have approximately three spots in their alley to the west side as well.

1525 Garnet Avenue San Diego, CA 92109

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schlarmzy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Bella Italia also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing