We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Slipaway was a classic getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Slipaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Slipaway
Slipaway Helm Galley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Slipaway
Slipaway Helm
Galley
Dinette - Salon
Midship area
Queen Master stateroom
Companion Way
Slipaway under sail
Sunset Sail
Aft view of Slipaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
San Diego, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
William D
Arizona
1 review
“Slipaway was a classic getaway”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Shaun and Jesse made our week aboard Slipaway a wonderfully relaxing experience. Beautiful woodwork, great views and great weather. My wife booked this stay to convince me that I shouldn't buy a sailboat. Oops! Now she wants one. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great staff
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wild4vws
1 review
“Wonderful stay on the Slipaway!”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

What an incredible experience it was staying on the Slipaway! My wife and I, hoping to retire on some type of boat both said this is a must try. It gave us a small taste of hopefully what our future holds in store. Both relaxing and yet so many things to do nearby. Kayaking around the harbor was really cool with sea lions poking their heads up just a few feet away! We just called the front office and requested a kayak and minutes later a kayak arrived. Although this may not be for everyone we loved it so much we are going again! We wanted our two children to have this experience as well so we are staying on Shauns latest ddition to her fleet "Narnie O'Shea." That might be the only negative staying on the Slipaway is that although perfect for two and maybe smaller children, we felt the quarters might be a little tight with us and two grown children. Thanks Shaun for giving us the opportunity to experience this adventure! We are genuinely grateful! One last mention, do not miss the Mai Tai's and Coconut shrimp just steps away at the Bali Hai! Incredible! Just watch the Mai Tai's as they are very strong but at least there is no reason to drive! Just don't fall out of the ship! Happy sailing!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard R
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Views of downtown San Diego and sleeping on the water - felt like an adventure!”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a great way to spend time in San Diego. Cityscape views, beautiful yacht on the water, comfortable beds, breakfast, coffee, walking distance from restaurants, nightlife and sailing. What else would you need?

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glendale, CA USA
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oonda
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A floating San Diego gem!”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

San Diego County is an amazing place to spend time if you love the great outdoors. I’ve had the privilege of living here for years! So what better way to surprise a loved one with a special birthday “stay-cation” —sun, sea, beach, soothing salt air. We both had 48 hours to slip away from work in the middle of the week. That left us little time to drive somewhere unique, and clearly not enough time to fly. “A boat,” was the first notion that lingered.

This turned out to be a splendid idea.

With just a little exploring I found the Slipaway, a lovingly restored 45’ classic ketch. Docked at Shelter Cove Marina on Shelter Island (not really an island but a spit of land jutting out into San Diego Bay, known as “America’s Cup Harbor) surrounded by great water views across to a bustling downtown, the hills of Point Loma, yet away from the fray of much busier Marina’s--she was the perfect classic yacht on which to spend several days and nights on the water. Lucky for us, the “Slipaway” is a bed and breakfast (the continental variety, where fresh fruit, yogurt, teas, coffee, juice and oatmeal await you) What a great idea!

We could have arranged for a cruise or sail around the harbor but we chose to just stay put and savor our surroundings.

The teak wood is warm and inviting, and for a 45-footer, the layout is designed to take advantage. There are two heads aboard, a nice big combined saloon and galley area, plenty of storage (but we weren’t heading to Tahiti, so we kept what we brought aboard to a minimum). There are several sleeping areas, so it would accommodate more people, however it was just perfect for the two of us! The aft stateroom holds a very comfortable bed-for-two, and has lots of natural light and ventilation.

If you can’t stand being disconnected to the world (by choice) there are two TV’s with cable, good internet, and excellent cell reception. But if you want you can easily slip away from your digital world.

At night, we were gently rocked to sleep only to awaken once when a sea lion flopped down on a nearby walkway and emitted a guttural low bark—a momentary startle! Listen carefully and you can hear little snapping shrimp foraging on the hull of the boat. It reminds me of the sound Rice Krispies make when you pour milk on them. On a boat, it is not unexpected to have some colorful dock mates.

Daytime we tended to linger on deck, catching up with reading material, taking a walk along the harbor, and checking out one of the several seafood restaurants less than a mile away. (easy walk, easier drive). There is a public fishing dock an easy walk away, if you are inclined to catch your dinner...The Slipaway has a grill on deck.

There are added amenities of a nearby work-out room, and clean shower facilities with lockers.

After several days aboard, we returned to our land home, refreshed and happy, and perhaps a bit melancholy for the sea and sailing ships and worldly adventures.
The Slipaway evoked all of the above, and left us with the thought:

“We need to do this again!”

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on the water on a lovely sailboat!
Liked least: Having to leave and go back to the daily grind...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing