We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good classic food but expensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave

El Agave
Reserve with OpenTable
El Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #166 of 4,537 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Old Town Ave
Ocean Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good classic food but expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lots of classic dishes with classic flavor but you will pay about $25 a plate for a classic dish with rice and beans (chicken mole is my favorite). You can find this cheaper in San Diego but the ambiance is great and the tequila is unmatched. Just be sure it's pay-day to avoid getting caught short. Tourists will enjoy the one stop shop for all foods Mexican. Don't avoid eating here if you are short of time in San Diego.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    63
    20
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Located in Old Town, this tequileria has it all: warm attentive service, outstanding upscale Mexican food, warm and comfortable atmosphere at a price that may be considered high, but is outstanding value for the overall dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Exceptional and Worth Seeking Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was one of our vacation highlights. We feel fortunate as we happened upon it quite by chance.

As others noted, the location is a little tricky - Up the stairway to the second floor. Once you're there, you'll know: YOU HAVE FOUND IT!

From the friendly welcome greeting, to the jewel-box boutique style bar, to the exceptionally fresh tequila-based cocktails, and an outstanding eclectic menu of true high end, traditional Mexican cuisine - Know you're going to have a memorable experience.

We were completely awed by the Tequila Museum surrounding us on every possible surface - Beyond impressive.

Our favorite items were the Cilantro Soup and Sea Bass VeraCruzano.

Oh Yes...and the Tequila!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank asleeponthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican-Cozy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in town from Chicago and wanted to find authentic Mexican food-we did. The 2nd floor location just outside of town up a hill threw us initially, but after walking up the stairs into the cozy space lined with endless tequila bottles we were thrilled. We were seated in a porch like area with open windows that allowed us to see the fireworks from Sea World. So fun! The endless assortment of tequilas were a great start to the evening and our waiter was so great at guiding us through the selections. I had the house special mole over pork which was outstanding. The portion was large and delicious. My partner had a steak in a smoky chipotle sauce that was so tender and flavorful. This is not cheap tacos and over sized margaritas. This is the real deal. This was the start to a week long trip up the coast and this was our favorite evening. Great choice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jaluca04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Food, service and price are all good here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We checked out EA for lunch based on some online recommendations. I had a great duck taco for $7 and thought it wouldn't be enough but it came with a sizeable and great tasting green salad as well as a tasty diced orange/tomato salad/salsa side dish. My wife had a veggie taco and a side of black beans that was not a spoonful of black beans but rather a "cake" of semi ground black beans that had been baked - so good - that was all equally impressive. Two entrees, two bevies, two great margaritas for under $40 for lunch and it was all very good. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BRUCE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing