We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai! A must try!!”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #785 of 4,744 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai! A must try!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

As someone who has been to Thailand and lived in Southeast Asia, I am very picky about my Thai food and loved it! Its no frills food hits the spot! You order and pay at the counter and they bring it to you! I ended up eating all of my Pad Thai and then eating most of my wife's Pad See Ew, much to her dismay. It was all so tasty I just couldnt help myself. I also ordered the mango sticky rice. Now it wasnt the best sticky rice ever but pretty good- and large thankfully I had 2 willing friends helping me finish it. The owner is friendly and has been featured on TV and in Magazines many times. So good Im going back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new haven, ct
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“For the birds!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Any trip to San Diego includes a stop at the Taste of Thai. A little take-out or eat in restaurant that emits the most wonderful smells of chickens roasting -- add a little sauce and you are good to go! Picked up my meal and went down to Balboa Park to enjoy the meal and much to my dismay it went to the birds. The chicken was overcooked and difficult to eat. I will stop in again and hope it was just an off day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctbeachbum131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommended to us, not sure why”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were told this place was fabulous. Guess we had too high of expectations. We had a family of six try it out. For starters, tough seating. Meant more for singles or couples, or take out. Had both indoor and outdoor seating on old metal chairs that must have a million miles on them. Not really sure anything was clean. Overall felt like diner dive, especially bathrooms. Very busy place but waitstaff quick to clear tables. The food....everyone had fun sampling the others plates but no one was coming back for more. The soups were huge bowls. Plates were full. lots of food served and not generic by any means, full of flavors, just not my style.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Icebox_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Salad rolls and ginger tea”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I'd still go a long way for Saffron's salad rolls, three to a box, siracha and peanut sauces, and hot pungent ginger tea.

The picnic hampers with broiled chicken, rice (substitute the white rice for the heartier, healthier red rice), salad rolls and cambodian slaw (delicious) are expensive but fun for a trip to Balboa park or the beach
.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savolkhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

generic thai take out. very hyped by the owner who moves with the upper class circles. good location, but if you want more authentic fare drive up to sabi lee in linda vista on ulric.

Helpful?
Thank Kanadukathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing