We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food near the bay at Elephant and Castle”

Elephant & Castle Pub & Restaurant
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Keller, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food near the bay at Elephant and Castle”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

While staying at the Wyndham Bayside in San Diego, I had a few meals with the family in the restaurant down stairs Elephant and Castle. The staff was very nice helpful, courteous and the food was great! Had breakfasts, lunch and dinners. Also the wifi worked there, when. The hotel wifi didn't work but the el and castle did! Nice atmosphere too, has food one side for a family and a bar on the other side if you need a drink. Great place stop by!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    80
    35
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metlakatla, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We ate here before we left for a cruise and the breakfast was good, reasonable price, rather terrible service but otherwise ok.
Our waiter seemed very distracted and kept forgetting things, on our table but also around us too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gnw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Semi-English Pub”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is San Diego's version of an English Pub. Some of the food was authentic (bangers and mash); others were just ordinary. I ordered the 7 bean soup for lunch, expecting it to be a traditional bean soup. Instead, it was a vegetable soup heavy on the green beans with a few white beans.

We were given vouchers for breakfast. Rather than allowing us to order from the menu up to the amount of the voucher (a generous amount), we were only allowed to order three items of the management's choosing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelinGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Breakfasts are sooooo good!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We will always have breakfast there when we are going to be boarding our cruise that day. Very hearty meals, with great coffee, and fresh squeezed juices. The wait staff have smiles and always have your cup filled.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Elephant & Castle at San Diego, Feb 2014”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Excellent. Such helpful servers and good quality food. They even checked for things off the menu and made helpful recommendations.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing