We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pork tamale with chile verde in the world.”

El Indio Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #145 of 4,744 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best pork tamale with chile verde in the world.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

You order at the counter and pick up there. El Indio is noisy and I've yet to see someone in there who is sad. Orcheta in the drink dispenser. They have tortilla chips baked in cinnamon and sugar. You can buy the sauces to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laural90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    149
    58
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
352 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Parking can be tough at times, there are lines you may need to handle, but the reason is that the food is THAT GOOD, eat in, take out, get added stuff to eat at home or take to a party. If you can handle the issues that come with the unbounded popularity of the food here, you have a real winner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

El Indio is one of our "new favorite places to eat while visiting San Diego.
The service is friendly, and don't be intimated by the lines they move quick!!!
The food is so good,and their is plenty of parking in that area.
We will be back on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eating there since 1970”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

El Indio is my first stop when I come to SD. Started eating there in the 1970's and is has always been great. A very clean and well run restaurant with two great outdoor eating spots. Always get a bag of their chips to go. If you are a by the airport look El Indio up and stop in.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macman448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Was in town for business and a local colleague brought me in for lunch. This is the real deal. No frills but very clean, tasty generous portions, friendly staff and low prices. I believe the owners are always onsite and you can tell they take pride in their operation. I was told that the restaurant goes back to the 1940's under the same family ownership. Try the fish tacos and you will not be disappointed. Liked it so much I came back the next day and again was not disappointed. I will definitely return next time in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAmericaLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Indio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Indio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing