We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff but Marginal Food”
Review of Harvey Milk's American Diner - CLOSED

Harvey Milk's American Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Staff but Marginal Food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Learning that City Deli in Hillcrest will soon be closing for good, I chose to dine here for lunch today one final time having dined many times in the past until the quality of the food got so bad that I chose other venues. The place was practically empty when I arrived, and I waited almost 5 minutes to be seated. The menu has not changed in years, and I ordered the pastrami on rye and with potato salad. Service was fast and efficient once I was seated. The pastrami was cold and tasteless and served on very stale bread. I had to ask for condiments and the gratis pickles normally set out on the table. The potato salad was actually very good, chunky and tasty. Prices are high for the quality of the food. Well, after 30 years, City Deli will soon be off of the San Diego restaurant scene. Unless you are going for nostalgia, pass this on by and try one of the many new and wonderful places in Hillcrest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pensando42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    14
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“deli review”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It looks like a simple place from the outside, don't let that fool you. The food is better than great. The food is homemade an memorable. The deserts are made on the premise and we actually ordered more dessert to go. We ended up going back for lunch becasue dinner was so good. I asked for a sample of their cold borsh becuse I never had cold borsh, they were very accomidating and brought me a sample. It was excellent. You need to try this deli for yourself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danteai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing menu”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place has such a variety on the menu, it is hard to chose. Everything is homemade. Juicy deli sandwiches, fresh or smoked fish, knishes, blintzes, and a whole selection of baked goods.
Hours: M-Th 8-midnite, Friday 8am-2am Saturday 7am-2am and Sunday 7am-midnite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fastfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very fun!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Small, great food with a lot of variety, delicious desserts, and friendly staff. The baker assured me that the desserts have no calories! :)

Helpful?
Thank Amjsew
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Riverside, CA
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always get great service here. The food is typical Jewish deli. If you are looking for comfort food, this is a great choice. Parking is always a challenge in Hillcrest, though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaymondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Milk's American Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing