We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the view”

Boathouse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Boathouse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #848 of 4,773 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the view”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for a special occasion and sat upstairs. Ordered a bottle of wine and 15 minutes later, they said they didn't have it. Ordered a bottle of champagne instead; it took them 30 minutes because they said they could not find any champagne glasses! The poke appetizer was great. I ordered halibut and it was so dry I could not finish it.. My husband ordered prawns and pasta and he said it was just average. Service was poor. Food mediocre. Price high. I won't go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    69
    54
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster Dinner”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We were staying next door at the Hilton Marina and just happened to stop in while taking a short walk. I'm really glad we did. It was a Wednesday night and almost everyone in the restaurant was eating lobster. The reason was that every Wednesday is lobster night. For $11.95 we ordered a 1lb. lobster accompanied with rice pilaf. We also ordered the Gorgonzola Salad which was fresh, delicious and large enough to share.

We returned on Friday night for the prime rib dinner special. Another fine dinner with good service and nice harbor view.

If we ever return to San Diego we will include The Boathouse in our dinner plans.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Boathouse Restaurant”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ate in the Boathouse at about mid evening. The panoramic views across San Diego with its lights were wonderful. The menu is mainly seafood orientated. The quality and taste of the food were excellent and the staff were interested and sociable. Try the seafood Ciopino.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not COUPON friendly”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My guests wanted to watch the sunset and have dinner. So I made reservations and asked for a table closest to the sunset. I had 5 for dinner. Only I ordered the special (prime rib). The food was good and the service was okay. A little late in following up after they delivered the food. Late in refreshing drinks and the place wasn't really that crowded. Our server Ricardo said he could not honor the $20 off coupon as we had ordered the special. The coupon reads "Enjoy one compimentary Entree when a second entree of equal or greater value is purchased" Nightly specials excluded, 18% gratuity will be added to the original amount., no seperate checks. Easily he could have used the coupon as there were 4 other entree's that were not nightly specials. I just said OK and paid the check. Food was good service lousy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkipB955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great Place for Happy Hour and Dinner Specials”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Happy Hour is from 2:30 to 5:00 everyday, and they have some great deals. Margaritas are $1.99, Cuban Mojitos and $4.00, and the beer of the month is $3, they havre other drinks on the menu as well. They also have food ranging from $3 to $5 for nachos, seafood ceviche, bay shrimp cocktails, chicken strips etc. The bar area serves soup, salad, and sandwiches (not on the happy hour menu but served daily), and they have great dinner specials Monday, Wed. and Friday for $11.99. Monday is Seafood Ciopinno, Wednesday is Maine lobster and Friday is Prime rib. The restaurant has a double sided view of the water. On one side you can view the harbor and the boats in their slips, on the other side you can look across the parking lot and view the water of San Diego bay. We arrived too late for Happy Hour, but ordered frozen margaritas. They were large drinks and very tasty; for $2 more we could double any drink. While we sipped, we looked out over the boats in the harbor out of big windows. We enjoyed the view and our drinks very much. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. We plan to go back for dinner and try out their specials.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing