We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6-16-2014”

Blue Point Coastal Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Point Coastal Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 4,764 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Market St.
Description: Blue Point is a 1940s style New York supper club featuring great martinis, the freshest seafood and prime aged beef. The dining room is lined with cherry wood and Frank Sinatra's music is common overhead.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“6-16-2014”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had been here before. This date was our 52 wedding anniversary. Food was the best and service was excellent. We paid a high price but is was worth it for his occasion. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    168
    50
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Elegant dinning! ”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited for dinner on a Monday evening. Service from Steve and Mark was prompt and professional yet engaging. The food was absolutely wonderful! Flavors were distinct and balanced. Nice pairings of entrees with sides. Highly recommend for a more than average experience! Will return on our next visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank TR0land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The food here is expensive and not worth the cost. I think there are many places in the area that offer better cuisine for better value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our favorite elegant seafood restaurant in San Diego”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Every time we hit San Diego, we try to make sure we hit Blue Point Coastal Cuisine. We have yet to be disappointed, and this is probably the 6th time we have eaten there. The fish is always super fresh, very well prepared, and the service in the restaurant is perfect (attentive, but not intrusive). I love it when the the wait staff has helpful opinions about the food on the menu, makes the whole experience of selecting your meal that much more satisfying. This last time, they had substituted a different fish for one of the preparations, and I knew exactly what to expect. They were also very accommodating, allowing my wife to substitute sides with ease. I have never had a bad meal here, and the extensive selection of seafood will satisfy anyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrivaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing staff”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

After 3 days of searing heat it was wonderful to come back to this restaurant for a second time and have the waiter open the door and say " would you like the same table as last time".
Dining with a 4 month old is not easy. Service was fast and yet relaxing. Our server Chris went above and beyond for 2 ladies who just wanted appy's on such a hot night.
Had oysters the first time that were fabulous and a crab cake that was big enough to share.
This is a place that understands what good service is all about.
Thank you for 2 lovely evenings

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Point Coastal Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Blue Point Coastal Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing