We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”

Berta's Latin American Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Berta's Latin American Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #473 of 4,773 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC & San Diego CA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Everything about this place is fantastic. The food is AMAZINGLY delicious, and very authentic. The service is superb. The prices are crazy-reasonable. The restaurant itself is adorable, with beautiful tablecloths and elegant settings. Especially in comparison to the overpriced tourist traps we've endured in Old Town, this is hands-down my favorite place. And if you have vegan guests, it's vegan-friendly too! $5.00 all-day parking right across the street from it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roeslers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great alternative to Mexian in Old Town”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We would never have found this place without Tripadvisor. And we are grateful for the discovery. For a small place, the menu is amazingly extensive, covering cuisines from several countries: Cuba, Chile, Honduras, Argentina, Peru, Venezuela, Columbia, Guatemala, Trinidad, Costa Rica and generic Spanish Caribbean. The food was excellent. I had the Guatemalan shrimp; my husband and mother had paella. The service charming. It may be only 1 man, but he was delight. We didn't wait too long, though we went on a Sunday evening and it wasn't jammed. The setting is charming, but not pretentious. Note: The portrait at the entrance is actually Galileo; they took over from an Italian restaurant :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique cusine”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

An interesting menu. A good place to go if you are looking for something new. It's a small place and the service is good. In Old Town San Diego so I'd recommend a walk after your meal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Old Town”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Close to the Cygnet Theater, so it's a good place to get South American food. The food is unusual and always delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Harriet_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food casual environment”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

if you are looking for something out of the ordinary try this little spot in old town. I have read mixed reviews on it but our experience was stellar. The taste of the food was really good everyone at the table commented on the flavor, which is the most important part of the meal for me. Our server was very helpful and we enjoyed the vintage look which seemed very at home in old town. I had the Caribbean chicken which was delicious and just the right size of serving. my husband loved the lamb and i noticed he was giving a lot of attention to the beef curry on my brothers plate.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frantcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berta's Latin American Restaurant also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Berta's Latin American Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing