We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great local venue!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adams Avenue Grill

Adams Avenue Grill
Ranked #1,034 of 4,561 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great local venue!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Walking in to AAG feels so familiar. The place is comfortably decorated and furnished, feeling like your own dining room. And the residential location only enhances that homey feeling.

The food is great! Had the veggie special of stuffed roasted poblanos, very tasty, size able and filling. And at a reasonable price.

Fair wine and beer selection to choose from.

Too full for dessert, but they looked delicious.

Service was good, friendly and efficient.

Definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gniram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Lovely Local Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This small hideaway is a favorite of locals for many years. The menu is unusual and food was excellent.....and local artists work is displayed for your enjoyment. It was nice to be able to talk without shouting, and to relax without being rushed out. Unassuming exterior, but don't judge the book by the cover!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent & creative food with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant for the first time tonight and I will be back! It's in a neighborhood about 5 miles from where I live where there are a nice group of independently owned restaurants. Maureen, our server who has been there for 15 years, made us feel so welcomed as first-timers there.

There was a nice wine selection and our server helped us choose the one for us. The spring rolls with 2 dipping sauces were fresh & healthy, the kale salad was nicely seasoned and very enjoyable and our main course was the wild rice stuffed red bell peppers on top of white beans. So yummy! I had my eye on the peanut butter and chocolate dessert the moment we walked in as we had to pass by the desserts, so had to take one to go as I had already eaten too much. Now I am eating the dessert and must say it is decadent. Try it if you like peanut butter!!!

Nice local feel. Again.... will be back!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food at a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A great staff, ask for Tiffany as your server. Great food, the fire oven pizza is excellent. The desserts are absolutely killer. What makes the meal is Tiffany's service. She is friendly knowledgeable and half the fun of this grill.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reecec99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We love to eat dinner at this restaurant. It's not very big but it is very cozy and nice and quiet. You can have a good conversation and not have to shout. The service is very great and you are well taken care of by the staff. The food has always been excellent and the specials are full of flavor. The quantity and quality of the food has been more than excellent.

The price of each entrée is mid priced and you get a large portion. We have been going for dinner so can't comment on lunch or breakfast. We will be going back and recommend this to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adams Avenue Grill also viewed

 

Been to Adams Avenue Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing