We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Italian!”

Baci Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Baci Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #252 of 4,776 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ashton St.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Italian!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Absolutely wonderful old school Italian restaurant which we found out about from friends in San Diego. It's a little outside of downtown San Diego and well worth the 5 minute drive. Our group had Osso Buco, their signature Swordfish and a rack of lamb. All first rate. The service was also outstanding.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    18
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful wait staff”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My team of 8 had a fantastic evening. The wait staff anticipated everything we needed. The mussels in broth were wonderful. The eggplant fabulous. Lovely evening

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wannabegardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Primo Italiano with an *”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The food here was excellent, but I do have a quibble. I always have a quandary with good Italian restaurants that list courses from antipasti thru secondi without any guidance as to portion size. Here I even asked our server about that and he indicated that each Paste or Secondi was individual sized. We ordered accordingly. I should have followed my instincts. The Paste servings were large bowls that would have been better shared. Unless you want to plow through a large bowl of of pasta by yourself, order to share. There were 8 of us and we would have been happier with 3 pastas passed around and then select a salad or secondi to compliment the pasta. Good food though, I do suggest that you take charge and not be intimidated and order "family style" especially for the pasta.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love San Diego”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have just returned from doing the Susan G. Komen San Diego 60 mile walk for breast cancer research and we ate one night at this restaurant and were SO impressed. The food was fresh, authentic, home made and just fabulous. The staff were unbelievably kind both with suggestions and their knowledge of the dishes prepared. The 3 of us shared an appetizer of melon and prosciutto that was mouth watering! We all had different dishes, sole, chicken and a beef selection as well as salads. I have eaten at Italian restaurants all over and believe me this one is at the top of my list and I will recommend it to everyone!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This restaurant was really great, the service was truly 5 star as was the food. Their Eggplant Parmigiana was excellent, really enjoyed the Capricciosa Salad, the fist of the day was great, (had this two days). Their gelato was excellent and their cannoli was way above average. Ate there three time on my visit to San Diego. They have a web site also. SanDiegoBaci.com.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baci Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Baci Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing