We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalton and Daniel make guests feel welcome 😊”
Review of AVANT Restaurant

AVANT Restaurant
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 6/26
8:00 PM
Ranked #110 of 5,732 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pomerado Road
Description: Venture forward with bright new flavors, fresh from the sea, farm and garden. Savor cocktails, wines and beers uniquely created with an artisan's touch. It's lively and sophisticated with a dash of daring. AVANT, come and experience what tomorrow tastes like. AVANT focuses on unpretentious, approachable cuisine with homegrown culinary touches paired with handcrafted classic cocktails, local craft beer and limited production wines from around the world. AVANT draws on the best of wine country dining - inspired culinary exploration, leisurely socializing, and the freshest of seasonal ingredients - and moves it forward with a contemporary California mindset. Our culinary team serves up vibrant, creative dishes and artisan libations that embrace items foraged, farmed, hunted or fished. An inviting setting defined by its indoor-outdoor design, dynamic spaces and social settings, you need to try this. Complimentary valet parking available.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

Both of these waiters, like all the staff at Avant, make me feel so welcome when I come here for dinner. It is such a pleasure to be in a restaurant where the employees so obviously enjoy working. Thank you RBI, pay them well!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttorresavantgm, General Manager at AVANT Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Thank you ChristinaL! We're so happy that you had such a great dining experience and we look forward to sharing your kind comments with Dalton and Daniel. We definitely look forward to your return and look forward to serving you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 215 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2019

In December 2018 we started planning an 80-th birthday party with the Avant restaurant services at the Rancho Bernardo Inn in San Diego, California. As the April date of the party approached we became concerned about the progress we were making towards finalizing all the details. Things were drifting until Avant assigned Cristina Porterfield to our event. She injected new energy and enthusiasm into our planning and when there was indecision about resolving problems, she produced the solutions. It was largely due to her efforts and those of her excellent staff that the party that we envisioned back in December was realized. Every aspect of it was a success. Fine meal, smooth but unobtrusive service, and unanimous approval from all the guests. We can’t thank the Avant team enough for making this important birthday an unforgettable experience.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttorresavantgm, General Manager at AVANT Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

Thank you Raymond B! We're so delighted that Christina and the service team went above and executed a memorable 80th birthday celebration. It's memories like these that we aim to create with each and every guest. We hope that you select us again for your next celebration and even as your next night out for dinner. We feature Happy Hour nightly from 4pm-6pm. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019

A favorite hotel to stay at while doing business in the area! Beautiful grounds. Great rooms. The last trip we did lunch at Avant. Emily D was our server and she was perfect. Attentive, friendly, helpful with suggestions! Did I mention lunch was delicious? Short rib potato skins!! Yummy!! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Michael-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttorresavantgm, General Manager at AVANT Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Hi Michael-Ann M! Thank you so much for your gracious words about your dining experience with Emily D. We look forward to sharing your wonderful feedback with her and the culinary team. We anxiously await your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Gratitude and compliments to the Service Staff, who served us tirelessly at our event at the Avant Restaurant private room area April 2019
Daniel, David, Rob and Anthony were absolutely The Best!
We celebrated my son's wedding there and it couldn't have been more perfect, mainly due to their service.
Daniel handled all of our requests with calmness and competence.
We wanted to show a video slideshow and we were panicked because we couldn't seem to get it to play, but Daniel took care of us.
Daniel even acted as our MC, by calling the attention of all of our guests and announcing the next event for us, whenever we requested him to do so. (ie: announcing that the slideshow will be playing now; announcing the bride and groom, etc.)
(He has the perfect attention-grabbing voice without a mic ;P )
The servers were regularly checking in on us to make sure everything was fine, including the temperature of the room!
Any request we made was granted with complete willingness by all of the servers.

Pro: The restaurant manager printed custom "Dinner Menus" for our event. They were a very nice touch for each guest's table setting.

FOOD:
I had sea bass and it was delicious! (con: not much came with it, only 2 tiny potatoes 1 inch diameter.) But, the sea bass was cooked very nicely. It had a nicely cooked crust while being moist and tender inside.
Several of my guests came up to me to compliment the venue and food. They said that their dinner was delicious! (And I did not ask them. They voluntarily came to me to let me know.)

ATMOSPHERE:
The atmosphere is perfect. It's set in a countryside-like setting. There is a pond/fountain in the outside view. It holds a maximum of 55 people. But, really it is for 50 people. 5 tables with 10 chairs each. We had the maximum and it was still fine.
Con: they did not let us have a musician due to other musicians already playing at the main restaurant and the hotel. However, this room is separated by walls and you cannot hear any music from the restaurant musician.
Pro: they did let us play music from our phone/device thru the provided soundbar speaker.
Pro: There is an available wall mounted TV/monitor with HDMI cable and Soundbar speaker that you can use. Below the the TV is a shelf/cabinet that was a perfect space to display a dessert tier that we brought.

Pro: The use of the outside patio area is very nice and beautiful. They provided standing cocktail hour tables.
Con: Our bartender was set up at the very far end of the patio, which made it a little inconvenient to get a drink. Also, since its not initially seen, I had to tell people that there was a bar out there.
Con: Because bar set up so far away and bartender, the bar was probably slower than it might have been if it was closer. And when the bartender was not standing directly in front of the bar, my guests (reported by my siblings) would peek out and not see the bartender, so, they would not go out there.
Pro: It probably saved us money in beer and wine (which is what we hosted.) Haha!

At the end of the night, Daniel asked me if we enjoyed the food.
Of course we did.
But, I must admit, it is not the beautiful a venue/view of the Avant/RB Inn nor the delicious dinner that has left a lasting impression.
It is the service we received from Daniel, and the rest of the service staff, during a very important event for our family, that is the most memorable about the Avant.
We literally could see them moving non-stop the entire night.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is on the Rancho Bernardo Inn property. Reservations suggested and valet parking available.
The service, ambiance and presentation of food are all superbly done.
We started with a bottle of Fritz Pinot noir along with our oyster appetizers followed by our entrees of branzino, scallops and duck breast all served with appropriate accompaniments. All followed by dessert of mixed berries and ice cream. Delicious!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 18phyllisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttorresavantgm, General Manager at AVANT Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Thank you 18phyllisk! We're so happy that you had such a great dining experience. We look forward to sharing with team. Keep an eye out for our new Spring/Summer menu to be released in the coming weeks! Also don't forget we feature nightly Happy Hour from 4pm to 6pm! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AVANT Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing