We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening”
Review of AVANT Restaurant

AVANT Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
AVANT Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #234 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pomerado Road
Description: Venture forward with bright new flavors, fresh from the sea, farm and garden. Savor cocktails, wines and beers uniquely created with an artisan's touch. It's lively and sophisticated with a dash of daring. AVANT, come and experience what tomorrow tastes like. AVANT focuses on unpretentious, approachable cuisine with homegrown culinary touches paired with handcrafted classic cocktails, local craft beer and limited production wines from around the world. AVANT draws on the best of wine country dining - inspired culinary exploration, leisurely socializing, and the freshest of seasonal ingredients - and moves it forward with a contemporary California mindset. Our culinary team serves up vibrant, creative dishes and artisan libations that embrace items foraged, farmed, hunted or fished. An inviting setting defined by its indoor-outdoor design, dynamic spaces and social settings, you need to try this. Complimentary valet parking available.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went to AVANT for a special dinner event in which some different plates were served that are not on their standard menu. Many of the plates were quite good - some were a little more successful than others (such the Kushi Oyster, Curried Kabacha Squash Bisque and Confit Wagyu Short Rib). The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The updated restaurant décor was nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLindseySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    37
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved looking out at the golf course and hearing the band play below. Wonderful charcuterie platter, appetizers and drinks. I am in love with the bread and butter they gave us! I must have eaten half a loaf!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vmarin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBINN, General Manager at AVANT Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear VMarin - thank you for your complimentary comments on AVANT, our views and cuisine. So much went into the renovation and we are very proud of the result.

We look forward to your return!

John Gates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best steak ever!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a great restaurant. I love steak and the center cut rib eye was melt in your mouth exceptional. Cooked perfect. Wife's scallops just as great. Service was extraordinary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BogeyMan513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Lackluster, Disappointing & Expensive”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ridiculous and not in a good way. Noisy, sports tv's, and by 9pm everyone is gone. The charcuterie is crazy expensive for what they serve. It is NOT the quality Jamon Serrano that is served at Jose Andres, it is four very thin slices of one inch sausage. The fried peppers are tasteless. The cheese is not worth the price either. Two thin slices of each, outrageous. The pork confit was dry served with a few beans. The only thing we really thought was good, tomato and burrata salad. The small scoop of pistachio ice cream was lackluster, no flavor and a waste of $5
Perhaps the larger plates are better, but we will never know because we have absolutely NO desire to return. El Biz was fine dining, this is overpriced crap. Service is ok, friendly but not great. A total disappointment. RB Inn use to have dining that made us want to stay at the resort, now it has nothing special to warrant the drive for a weekend. Won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whocareswhoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"What a breath of fresh air"”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Enjoyed an amazing dinner at Avant Restaurant last night . Excellent food and flawless service. Victor was amazing and recommended the scallops,sea bass and quinoa salad; WOW!! 5 stars all the way.!! One of the best meals I've had.!!!

Wendy Vuanney A.
wendyfleys@gmail.com

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AVANT Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing