We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal!”
Review of Buona Forchetta

Buona Forchetta
Ranked #104 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are ever staying in San Diego, it would be a crime to not dine here at least once. The menu is simple and well prepared northern Italian. The staff are all Italian and not the fake accented kind that populate New York eateries. The food is divine, the atmosphere is rustic: highly recommended!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCrisdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    59
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best Food in San Diego”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a new restaurant that is cozy, great food, great staff and a pizza oven called Sofia. The pizza is like Rome's and the pasta--heavenly. Good wine and beer and a wonderful place to be. I am so lucky I can walk here. Took my daughter and family for her 40th birthday. It was a hit with my grandchildren also, age 8 and 3. I love it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KnoxAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Feels Like Italy”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great place. Pizzas are excellent. Pastas are all great. Lasagna is spectacular. The salads are excellent and very interesting. The beans in the shrimp salad are as good as the shrimp! I hesitated to write this review because it is already too crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pizza”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have heard great things about Buona Forchetta, and I was not disappointed, I don't think that it was the best pizza I've ever had in San Diego. I think Blind Lady Alehouse and Salerno Winery have equivalent or better pizzas. Very happy with the food and the outdoor patio was great in San Diego weather.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThriftyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Everythink perfect”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Healthy and homemade kitchen, kind staff, good prices.
Place very nice, simple and natural.
You have to eat there once in life!

Helpful?
Thank Roberta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buona Forchetta also viewed

 

Been to Buona Forchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing