We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of Best RIs Ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #76 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of Best RIs Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've enjoyed Residence Inns over the years, especially when I have a 2 week or longer stay for business and this is one of the best ones yet.
The rooms were very nice as always, big walk in shower, good layout of items in the room...except the big bathroom door right next to the sink. Thankfully my wife wasn't with me otherwise I would've been knocked out whenever I was brushing my teeth if she were to exit the bathroom.
Breakfast was always good and fresh.
Best part about this RI...it's not a Chuck E. Cheese in the morning or any part of the stay. Yes, I have kids...2 of them, but I've been to other RIs where each couple staying had to bring a minimum of 3 kids...not exactly the way I want to start a long day of work wondering how long the line will be for breakfast.
Parking underground is easy, decent mexican restaurant nearby, friendly and helpful front desk...other RIs should use this place as a model.
Travel to there from the downtown is easy.
Had to work at Point Loma each day and was always going against traffic..easy drive...don't let the mileage from the airport scare you.
Room location...had one facing Valley Center Drive and was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Opposite side of I-5 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadbuttrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello Sadbuttrue,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell about your experience at our hotel. The entire staff was delighted to hear about your memorable stay at our daily huddle this morning. Our breakfast staff does a great job maintaining the breakfast buffet to keep the line down. On behalf of the Residence Inn Del Mar Team, thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    37
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
32
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

First time at a Residence Inn and once you get over the fact the lobby is simple and no bar or restaurant you realize it is a new twist on hotel living. With convenient access from parking garage elevator directly to your floor- you really never visited the lobby. After two very long days, it was good to come "home" and have a simple meal in the room with a bottle of wine you purchased at local liquor store...a nice change from formulaic hotel restaurants. The free breakfast was perfect- and you could take it to your room if you prefer. Would definitely stay here again as against the Marriott right across the street. Free parking and free wifi- nice. What was so great is that my check out invoice was EXACTLY what the booking said...no extras! Loved that!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello Matt H,

Thank you so much for your review! The staff is so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the Residence Inn we are dedicated to provide what you need to stay strong with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Our suites truly help our guests thrive with all the comforts of a modern home.

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you during your future visits to the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This property was great! The room was a great size and had all kinds of amenities. Kitchen, microwave, sofa, desk, etc. The bed was so very comfortable and although it was near the freeway, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Gigilv,

Thank you so much for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your memorable stay. We hope you will think of us during your future travels to the San Diego area.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel was very nicely appointed and very clean and new. The front desk staff was very helpful on this Holiday 4th of July. They made an excellent recommendation on a quick and easy way to go to the Del Mar Fair and avoid all of the traffic . They gave me a room on the top floor while others had to wait. The room was very functional and comfortable. It was very relaxing and close to everything I would want to do.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if you room faces the freeway as this will cause some low level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Marleece,

Thank you so much for staying with us over the 4th of July holiday weekend. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you telling others about your memorable stay. Our staff has a true passion of taking care of our guests and their local area knowledge is extremely valuable to them.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I must first thank the wonderful Marriot Residence Inn Del Mar employee Amber Baker for being so helpful, competent, and a great asset to the Marriott company! Everyone working there was friendly and I sensed they all took pride in working and taking care of the guests there.
My studio room was very clean and comfortable. I could tell everything was very new and up- to - date and it is being kept that way..
The included buffet breakfast had enough variety each day and even the light dinner served during the week nights was tasty, much to my surprise! Thanks for the glass of wine that came with it!

Room Tip: I had a room on the highest floor, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgirly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Beachgirly1,

Thank you for your review. Amber is a tremendous asset to our company as a whole, but even more so to our property. I am so glad to hear that she was able to be so helpful during your stay. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and it truly shows.

There is nothing like winding down during our complimentary evening social with a glass of wine and some appetizers and our complimentary breakfast buffet provides what you need to stay strong everyday.

On behalf of the entire team, thank you so much for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you during your future stays in the San Diego area.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here for business. The room was very spacious, clean, and quiet. Nice layout of kitchen, work area, bed, and bath. I liked having a spacious shower rather than a shower that is part of a bath tub. The location was great - just off the highway but also close (5-10 drive) to the Torrey Pines beach and nature reserve. There was also a Mexican restaurant (Tio Leo) only one block away that was very good and inexpensive (try the carnitas burrito or shrimp tacos). The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Michelle who recommended that I go hiking along the trails at the nearby Torrey Pines nature reserve -- the views of the coast were spectacular! The free breakfasts were better than most and the happy hours were excellent. Be sure to save room for some of the fresh-baked cookies. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello Kevin G,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your memorable experience at our hotel with others. Michelle strives to offer additional assistance with her knowledge of the local area and her passion for the outdoors gives our guests the option of enjoying some of the most beautiful places San Diego has to offer.

Hopefully we will see you again soon during your future travels to the San Diego area.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Room had nice living and kitchen area. Had the good hot breakfast RI is known for (although w/ disposable plates and flatware). This hotel is close to the beach area but I wouldn't say it's walkable. You'd have to cross under the highway and it didn't read very pedestrian-friendly. The hotel is not really right next to a shopping or restaurant area. I think there is one restaurant right by but you'll need to drive a bit to get to anything that feels like a shopping center. New-feeling facility. It's a good security measure I suppose, but you have to use your room key to use the elevator, and that can be tough with full hands. Parking is under the building.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyinsanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Amyinsanantonio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us. The staff was very exited to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet.

At just over 2 miles from our doorsteps, Torrey Pines Beach is a thing of beauty. While the beach can be a bit of a walk, the views of wildlife inside Los Penasquitos Lagoon makes the walk worth the wait.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Residence Inn Del Mar, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to catering to your future travels to the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#66 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#83 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3525 Valley Centre Drive, San Diego, CA 92130
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego Del Mar, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, such as SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our San Diego Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing