We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for both families and business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #84 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Perfect for both families and business travelers”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The staff were all very friendly, helpful and kind. The free, included breakfast every morning was wonderful and the suite size is huge comparatively speaking to the Marriott highrise right down the street which is both more expensive and has less amenities. I am a horse-trainer in the Del Mar area and would go there again in a New York minute!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi Laurie A.,

On behalf of the whole hotel team, thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our amenities and suite during your recent stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you back again come Race Season!

Safe travels!

Kiyomi C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    45
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
81
38
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Newly built hotel located in a hotel/office park area. Good sized King room with a sofa bed and small kitchen which even had a cooktop. Quiet, well maintained although we were told upon check in that card keys only allowed access to our own floor, this was not true. We requested a room with a safe and were quickly moved to another on the same floor. Bathroom was clean but unexceptional; materials and finishes were kind of "builder's special". Like many other hotels, nothing unique. Full breakfast was good, and included self served eggs, waffles, muffins, sausage, a variety of cereals including granola. Although they had many seating areas, I was unable to find a quiet area to make phone calls because they were all full of overflow diners from the breakfast room. They have located a large flat screen right next to the computers so had to compete with the hockey game while I changed my reservation online and on my phone. Cramped underground parking.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bravegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanHaft, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Good Evening Bravegirl,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post about your recent stay!! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the housekeeping department and the rest of our staff. We hope to see you again soon the next time you visit the San Diego area.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Evan.Haft@marriott.com
858-461-4997
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights, with a late check in. Our requests for top floor were gladly accomodated by the front staff. Amber was pleasant, explained the key for access in and out of the gated garage. She also told us where the local restaurants were. The room was clean,and very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful, and the area was always maintained and well supplied with all choices.
When in the Del Mar area, we would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi cara2791,

Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that next time you are in Del Mar, you'll stay with us again! Hopefully you were able to try a restaurant or two that Amber recommended-if not, you'll definitely have to come back soon :).

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We are gold members with Marriott and almost exclusively stay at Marriott properties. We are also Vacation club members. This is one of the first times Marriott let us down. What happened!!!?? I was less than impressed with the check in desk, although when we were leaving, the front desk seemed genuinely concerned about our complaints. First off, the layout of the room is not condusive to someone sleeping on the sofa bed. You cannot close off the area where the bathroom sink is located, so the very bright light shines straight onto the sofa bed. There is no mirror in the bedroom, so you have to get ready by the bathroom sink. There is no hook in the shower/toilet area, so you end up putting your clothes on the floor when you shower. Our room was pretty noisy, even though it was 5 floors up from a busy street.-nothing you can do about that! The worse thing was the housekeeping. Towels were not changed, even though visibly dirty and just tossed on the rack. I realize we should have tossed them on the floor to be changed, but normally Marriott changes them anyway if they are visibly used. The counter was not wiped down and trash not picked up ie empty coffee cups, soap wrappers, etc. The second night we came back to the room late afternoon and towels were changed (since we put them in a pile on the floor), but nothing else was done. When I asked the front desk person (same person who checked us in), he said normally housekeeping does not return a second time. I asked if someone could go back in so he called and asked me "what did I need them to do?" I said everything, like make beds, tidy up, wipe counters, and it seemed like this was not a normal request. Apparently the housekeeper had to go to lunch so was in a hurry and simply changed the towels and did nothing else. I am not sure she/he ever meant to complete the work, but he/she did end up at least coming in and making the bed-that's about it. One last thing-why aren't they providing lotion anymore? Only shampoo and conditioner is provided, and since we always get lotion, I never bother bringing any. In short, these seem like small things, and in the bigger picture, they surely are small, but I have grown used to wonderful Marriott standards of excellent service and little extras, as well as well appointed rooms and this hotel fell short. We will need to find another Marriott property to stay at since our daughter now lives in Solana Beach, so we will be returning to north county at least a few times a year.

Room Tip: Ask them which side of the hotel is quieter. Not sure-but the ones in the back side seem pretty noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestobike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Lovestobike,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and the feedback you provided me and the team. I am very sorry about the experience you and your family had with us. This is certainly not what you should expect from any type of Marriott. I would like to make sure that I have all of the necessary information to correct these mistakes, if you have a moment, would you be able to reach out to me to discuss further. I greatly appreciate your time and thank you again for your Marriott loyalty!

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
casey.grieme@marriott.com
(858) 461-4960
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Thank you, Rhonda, for making us feel so welcome. You were attentive, personable and made us feel as though we had known you for a long time. Your hotel was clean, comfortable and displayed a large selection of breakfast items. Thanks for making our 2 night stay so special!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bj_southwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi bj_southwest,

Thank you for recognizing Rhonda in your review!! She's an all star and leads our fantastic front office team. We couldn't agree with your comments more!

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Del Mar for your two-night stay and we hope to see you again!

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Thank you for a great staff, Robert, Rhonda, Michelle, Liz? Lupe and everyone else who was so attentive and personable while I stayed for 55 days at your hotel due to relocating to San Diego. They made you feel at home and were all extremely helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to the area for extended or short stay. You are close to everything, beach, shopping, eateries, the city.

Room Tip: pick the top floor. i had a corner room and never heard anyone except the footsteps on top of me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Clare S,

We appreciate your recent stay with us while relocating to the great city of San Diego. I was happy to share your feedback with the team this morning during our daily huddle. Please think of us when you have friends or family visiting the area.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for a 3 night leisure stay on award nights. This hotel has a lot of long-term residents and it's impossible to get a choice of a good room. We were stuck with a handicap studio room that had a very odd layout. The bathroom door did not close shut and can't be locked. The storage is a large cabinet that takes up valuable space in the small room. There is no cabinet or closet in the bathroom like other residence inn rooms. We enjoyed the free breakfasts and free dinners on Monday-Wednesday nights. That was a huge cost savings to not have to spend money on those meals for the family. When i first arrived on Sunday Mar 2nd to check in at about 5 pm it took about 10 minutes before someone finally showed up at the front desk to help me. That wasn't a good first impression at all since 5 pm is a typical check in time I expected someone to be there waiting for customers. We however had a fantastic experience with the front desk the next morning (Monday Mar 3rd) when the lady noticed our 2 crazy little boys and offered them a treat from the market to help make them happier. That was extremely thoughtful to offer that and helped us enjoy the rest of the day out exploring the city. I'm sorry I don't remember the employee's name but hopefully the dates will help you look up who was working and you can let them know how much we appreciated that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ace897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear ace897,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and providing some feedback. I apologize about your arrival experience, certainly not the first impression we would want to give our guest and it is something for us to focus on moving forward. I was happy to hear that you had a good experience with Miglena as she helped prepare your family for a fun day of sightseeing. Please reach out to me the next time your travels bring you to San Diego and you are interested in staying at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#86 of 279 in San Diego
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#68 of 279 in San Diego
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3525 Valley Centre Dr, San Diego, CA 92130-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego Del Mar, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, such as SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our San Diego Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing