We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #83 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a new Residence Inn. Rooms are very modern. The staff is fantastic! Michelle Valdez will take care of you! The morning breakfast is what you would expect but did I mention that they have a 5:30 to 7:00 happy hour. Beers are free! Join the staff and guests to start the night out right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi markhfour,

Thank you for making us your first review on TripAdvisor!

Michelle is a great asset to our team and we thank you for recognizing her outstanding customer service! Social Hour is definitely the place to be Monday-Thursday also :).

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Diego!

Safe travels,

Kiyomi C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    45
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
36
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

So after looking online for a place to stay, for a Saturday night stay.
Checked in a bit early, 1:30p and asked what was the better location.
The Freeway side or the other side. As I was skeptical of the noise, of the road.
Anyway listened to Front desk person who said oh the view is better on Freeway side.
Well if was a view of AM/PM and parking lot of next door motel. Just so you know there is nothing to do at this place. Yes it is new but dont bother for the rate. Had to listen to road noise
all night. Stayed on the coach bed and woke up with a bad back.
The free breakfast is basically basic eggs... I am not sure about these people with 4-5 stars ratings. Maybe if you compare to motel 6....it is 5 stars.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the Freeway side...You will not Sleep...Plus the only view is of Gas Station, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Fastdata,

I appreicate the feedback you provied and I apologize for your expeirence with us. As a new hotel, we are looking for ways to improve and make the hotel a great place to stay for all of our guest. We often suggest rooms on the south side of the hotel for the views of the Torrey Pines area. If you don't mind, can you reach out so that I can inquire more about your stay with us. I would like to research this a bit further.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
casey.grieme@marriott.com
(858) 461-4960
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Our greeting was friendly and welcoming. The General Manager also came out, greeted us and told us about the addition of happy hour on Thursday nights, with beer, wine and finger foods. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and a nice selection, usually it is a continental, but this also included eggs. Didn't get to use the pool, but it looked nice. We would recommend and stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imthimy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Imthimy1,

Thank for you your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our additional Thursday night social experience and the hot breakfast we serve daily. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were able to check in early and were able to stay next to our son and family. The rooms were new very comfortable. We spent just one night and was offered to take late check out, but didn't have the time. The breakfast was also nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hello Blaine L,

Thank you for choosing the brand-new Residence Inn Del Mar for your visit to Sea World! I'm glad we were able to provide rooms close to your son and his family so you could maximize your time spent with each other while in San Diego. Next time you're in town, we look forward to seeing you and your family again! Since you've already been to SeaWorld, you'll have to go to our world-famous San Diego Zoo on your next visit! :)

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is pretty nice. I believe it just opened up a few months back so everything is new and in good condition. Staff was friendly. Only stayed the weekend in a single room suite. A little small but not terrible.
Had a kitchen, fridge, dishwasher and microwave.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cmendez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Cmendez007,

Thank you for your review! You're right- we're brand new and opened in July :). I'm glad you enjoyed your suite and fully equipped kitchen.

We look forward to taking care of you on your next visit to San Diego!

Warm regards,

-Kiyomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here with the wife one night on Columbus day weekend. Have stayed at many RI's before and can say this certainly was an appealing hotel. As other reviews have stated, the hotel is fairly new and still looks spotless. Room was identical to the pix with room and furnishings in great condition. Lots of lighting fixtures available in the room to suit different tastes. Bathroom had enlarged shower stall and no tub. Sink is locate outside the shower and toilet room. Didn't notice any outside noise. Did notice some footsteps from upstairs room but not anything unusual for hotels. Breakfast was ok and typical of other RI's. Secured parking below hotel was a nice feature. Need to check in first to get the room key that opens the gate to the garage. Best of all, discerning wife had no issues with hotel!

Nearby malls had plenty of restaurants. Just ask front desk for advice.
I would highly recommend this hotel for those who are familiar and prefer RI's.

Room Tip: Higher floor to eliminate any chance of an occupied room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Ceetom1,

Thank you for taking a moment to submit a review for us. It sounds like you and your wife enjoyed your time at the hotel and that's what we love to hear! You've also shared great tidbits of information for future guests- thank you!

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My family and I are at the conclusion of a long and very commodious eight-day stay at this nearly new Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. The hotel just opened in mid-summer and it's a state-of-the-art accommodation. The complimentary breakfast is quite lavish, the business center is well equipped, the underground parking is free to guests, and there's a convenient guest laundry room downstairs. Best of all, the fitness center--with all new equipment--is open 24/7. Also terrific (and I pointed this out to Casey, the general manager), the hotel is sparkling clean. One reason is that Jackie Japrus, of the housekeeping staff, does an extraordinary job and has a wonderfully upbeat demeanor!

Moreover, the rooms in this Residence Inn, are fully equipped for a lengthy stay--including such amenities as a full size refrigerator, a range top, dishwasher and an entire complement of dishware. All in all this is a great new hotel for beautiful Del Mar!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJMartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear EJMartin 1,

Thank you so much for the kind words and your recent stay with us! Your feedback is music to my ears and I love to share these comments with the staff during our daily huddles. We hope to host you and the family again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#78 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#75 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3525 Valley Centre Dr, San Diego, CA 92130-3302
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego Del Mar, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, such as SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our San Diego Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing