We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is amazing food!”

California Kebab & Beer Garden
Ranked #1,043 of 4,776 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is amazing food!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I started our meal with warm pita and hummus trio - nothing like you have eaten before, One was a regular chickpea, one tasted like a basil hummus and the last one tasted like a red pepper hummus. They were all delicious. We split for our entree which was one Herb Marinated Chicken, one Garlic Pepper Shrimp and one Pomegranate Sirloin kebabs served with Israeli couscous tabbouleh. Yum. Great selection of local microbrewed beers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbloew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Awesome Beer”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went there during our summer vacation this year. The beer selection is amazing! the food is great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great California vibe, great beers!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We ate at California Kebab & Beer Garden twice during our stay in Pacific Beach. It’s a great place that really embodies that cool California vibe. Located about 50 feet from the Boardwalk along Pacific Beach on the upper story of a building on the corner of Mission Boulevard and Pacific Beach Drive. The music is great, spinning lots of great tracks from the 60’s through today. The decor includes 12” vinyl album covers that will bring back memories for many. There is indoor and outdoor seating, so you can find a spot that works for you. The view out to the Pacific Ocean and the ocean breezes top it off.

The food is great, with Kebabs being their specialty of course. The menu choices include typically healthy California selections, as well as more traditional beer garden selections. They don’t really offer table service, so you may be disappointed if you wait to be served. You’ll do much better just going up to the counter for your selections. The food will be delivered to your table, but it can be a bit slow.

More importantly, the restaurant is also home to nanobrewery that cranks out some excellent IPA and Ales. I highly recommend the Pignose IPA! They have a rotating menu of beers brewed at the restaurant and brought in from other breweries. For a beer lover, you would have a hard time finding a better spot!

If you’re in Pacific Beach and looking for a great spot for lunch or dinner that’s close to the beach, this is a great place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

A friend of ours told us that California Kebab was awesome so we checked it out. When we entered the restaurant, the relaxed, earth-friendly ambiance was truly welcoming. The hint of grilled food slightly filled the air as the cashier greeted us at the order counter.
The ordering process was interesting. We looked at a menu board and selected grilled chicken dinner with hummus and pita chips. Then we took our number stand to a seat that we selected.
We had water cups and were able to fill our own water out of a water dispenser. Servers checked on this once in awhile to see if we were okay but there was nothing for them to do because we were getting our own water and waited for our food.
When the food arrived it was a dream come true. The grilled chicken skewers were extremely tasty, salad was fresh and crispy, and the rice had a Mediterranean taste that was amazing. The pita chips were fluffy and the hummus dip creamy and delicious.
The name of the restaurant says California Kebab, and it delivers on everything that you would expect. Mediterranean Meets California.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HikeOps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING FOOD!! Best new place in SD/PB - You WILL NOT be disappointed!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a GEM place this really is for VEGETARIANS AND MEAT/ FISH EATERS

The most well-unknown (been around for 1+ year or so now) hidden Gem in So-cal for sure and anywhere for that fact.

Here is a simple Breakdown:

1. STYLE:
a. BEACH Casual Cool
b. family friendly
c. an AWESOME place to take a Lady and have a long conversation and be able to hear each other, speak and have some nice background music that doesn't make your head want to explode. -
they do not get the normal (obnoxious, wasted and loud) crowd of the area - it is a better aged, mature group of people looking for conversation b/c of the bench style seating you make friends very quick w. everyone around you. i noticed a LOT of families and babies and kids and grandparents there too - something that not a single place in the area has.

2. FOOD:
regardless of what you eat (meat, fish, veggies) they got something awesome and very tasty for you - from great salads to awesome meat skewers to great upscale bar food - fried zucchini.
if you live on burritos/tacos and mexican food w/ salsa - then this place will change the way you think about places you thought were good.

3. BEER:
from incredible house brews - Amplified brand - tried a few and all were outstanding - but the ELECTROCUTION and Pig nose pale ale were my favorite of the ones on the entire board - plus they feature only high quality - harder to find craft beers of san diego's best and belgiums best too - some very very high end beers.

4. PRICE:
for the quality of food and portion sizes - it is a STEAL - literally. you can't buy from Suzy's and put together the meal for less cooked anywhere. you can't buy the quality of meat and fish - all WILD stuff no farmed salmon or shrimp plus mostly ALL the lettuce and veggies are ORGANIC from a LOCAL FARM!!

5. SAUCES
sauces are MY THING - and this place has a LOT of them and all very creative and well made - they have 5 standard ones in a bin for you to self serve plus all the unique ones that come with your food. they have the BEST Salsa of any (mexican or other) place i have ever been to - also my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE - the habanero Sauce - which is something i can't live without anymore. taste it and you'll see - but if you don't like hotter than mild - you may want to pass. they always surprise you somehow here.

6. SPECIALS:
there is some happy hour from 3-6 i think all stuff is half off - but i have never been able to make that yet.......but if you do - SCORE - you'll be stoked paying 1/2 for beer and food for 3 full hrs!
the specials are NOT TO MISS - every day they have something going on - from patio pints $4 to pitcher specials - for $10!! unreal price on REALLY GOOD BEER - No Budweiser or Coors and Corona - EVER - thank gosh! but the normal beer is $6 - and there are about 30 of them ALWAYS changing so fast that tap hunter can't keep up - the next day you come - it will be different.

Cal-Kebab is quite a surprise - after taking the elevator in this beach close strip mall of sorts (but not the huge cheesy kind - just the style of the building by the beach) you arrive to the top (2nd floor) and enter to this very cool styled brew pub (Amplified Ales) and Restaurant (Cali- Kebab)

What is so cool is that not only is their beer outstanding (had the awesome ELECTROCUTION) but the food is simply the best i have had - in any style of any category.

Vegetarians - grab your fork, Meat Lovers - grab your shovel!

I know the food is Doner = meat on rotisserie - like Mediterranean style - or think Greek shwarma, but the veggies with the food are incredible!! they have plenty of veggie items that are just awesome - like the zucchini - don't miss this, the doner fries - w/out meat or with rotisserie chicken and skewers to die for - the meat skewer was one of the best i've had hands down. i also tried the shrimp skewer - awesome wild LARGE shrimp - not the cheap farmed junk you see most places. you can tell the quality in everything you eat - they apparently buy form one of the most famous farms in San Diego which is very well known - "Suzy's Farm"

WHY I WROTE THIS:
Trip Advisor asked for me to review something - and this came to mind. I am an easy going but easy to always please at restaruants kind of person - b/c normally quality of stuff i won't eat - like farmed stuff - fish, shirmp and veggies are not organic. this place has changed all that.

THIS PLACE TASTE BETTER THAN ANY MEXICAN PLACE YOU HAVE EVER BEEN - FORGET OSCAR'S OR SANTANA'S - they dont tatse the same after you have had this, it is a FLAVOR EXPLOSION and thats why i am nuts for this place -

I challenge any mexican loving food person to try their Chicken or beef or En Fuego (beef + shrimp) wrap and you will NEVER eat anywhere again.....i promise.
i think it's wrapped in pita or flat bread - but one bite and your world will change.

lastly, don't just take my word(s) for it, try it and write me back if i was wrong in any way - i don't think it will happen.

If i could name the place i'd call it MEXICAN FOOD ON STEROIDS and then some

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlohaJbT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Kebab & Beer Garden also viewed

 

Been to California Kebab & Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing