We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty caribbean fusion”
Review of Isabel's Cantina

Isabel's Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabel's Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #751 of 4,776 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cass
Description: At Isabel's Cantina, Chef Isabel Cruz fuses Latin and Asian cuisine into sensual and creative concoctions that are both remarkably addictive and surprisingly healthy. By incorporating ingredients from spicy pork carnitas to tofu, Chef Cruz creates a vegetarian's haven as well as a meat-lover's paradise. The exotic dining space is at once dramatic and hip, with accents such as an enormous 15-foot Buddha statue staring down at the dining room. Casual booths, stark lines, and warm colors create an atmosphere not found elsewhere in Pacific Beach, attracting crowds for brunch, lunch, and dinner.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasty caribbean fusion”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Isabel's Cantina is a nice find in Pacific Beach in San Diego. It is a little of the beaten path, so not as busy as other PB restaurants. They offer a large selection of dishes with Cuban / Puerto Rican / and Mexican influences.

Isabel uses puts a lot of creativity into her dishes. This results in a mouthfuls of flavor's that are very appetizing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great food, feels good inside.
I had the pozole for lunch, which was wonderful and returned the next day for the soy scramble for breakfast.
My husband had the pancakes both times with an egg and bacon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good and Pricey”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I expected to get good latin food, I am latina and I love the spicy-ness of latin food and it was missing from this food. Don't get me wrong it was good but I expected more from the latin flavors. The price is a little over the top for the food but still go and try it out for yourself you might like it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit noisy”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The restaurant is located in popular Pacific Beach, San Diego, and is a popular destination, even on weeknights, so reservations may be desirable for groups larger than, say, 2. The waiter was less attentive than we'd liked, as it was a very busy night, but the table busser was helpful in taking our Restaurant.com coupon for our meal. The atmosphere is very lively, and not conducive to intimate conversations. If the food weren't so good, I'd have given this place low marks for atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pricey & Bland”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in to use our "daily deal" coupon April 7th. We enjoyed our waiter Tony's service and insight for the daily offerings. We had an appetizer, fried plantains with carnitas, they were pretty tasty.

Then came the entree's, my wife ordered the steak and I had the chicken diablo. Both were rather bland along with the side dishes. The concept here is local farm to table but seriously, add a little salt for flavor, even if it is not local. Boring & tasteless!!

Last but not to be forgotten was the flourless chocolate cake, best part of the meal by far.

You should know that they do no9t have a full liquor license so they serve mock cocktails made with wine, Rather pricey at $8.00 and not much flavor. There is no beer on tap either. This establishment could have a lot going for it but someone needs to taste the food they are serving. If I want bland good I can open a can of soup at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mr49phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabel's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Isabel's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing