We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Latin Flavors”
Review of Isabel's Cantina

Isabel's Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabel's Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #751 of 4,773 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cass
Description: At Isabel's Cantina, Chef Isabel Cruz fuses Latin and Asian cuisine into sensual and creative concoctions that are both remarkably addictive and surprisingly healthy. By incorporating ingredients from spicy pork carnitas to tofu, Chef Cruz creates a vegetarian's haven as well as a meat-lover's paradise. The exotic dining space is at once dramatic and hip, with accents such as an enormous 15-foot Buddha statue staring down at the dining room. Casual booths, stark lines, and warm colors create an atmosphere not found elsewhere in Pacific Beach, attracting crowds for brunch, lunch, and dinner.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Creative Latin Flavors”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Chef Isabel Cruz has a real talent for adding subtle flavors to traditional bold latin flavors. Everything is fresh and the portions are generous. What makes the food so memorable is the creative combination of clear and distinct flavors - not easy to do. Staff is friendly and the decor is basic, but fun. The restaurant is off the main strip, hidden in a neighborhood. I hope it remains a bit of a hidden gem so we can always get a table here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeSleepEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The sign is not very visible but once inside it is an eclectic decor, noisy but obviously popular. The service was a bit slow but the food was great with good size portions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cali-gurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible hidden gem and best breakfast EVER!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I were told this was a great place for breakfast by our hotel (Tower23) staff. We walked up a couple blocks for a late breakfast this morning and it was incredible! I can truly say I think it was the best breakfast I have experienced anywhere. I am a foodie and I appreciate well prepared and flavorful food that is different than you can get anywhere else. This place delivered! Their menu ranges from traditional bacon and eggs to Peanut butter pancakes and avocado scrambled eggs. Their homemade cinnamon bread is incredible! I highly recommend trying a couple of pieces with that along with anything else that you choose. Enjoy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Your-Supergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing Valentines Dinner”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been to this restaurant a few times before, the first couple times everything was perfect and I kept going back. This last time I went with my husband for our first valentines day as a married couple. Every high on the special menu sounded so good that we decided to order different things so we can try each others food. My husband got the cod fish & I got the steak, his cod was overcooked and the green salsa on top wasn't a very good fit for it. My steak, I asked for a medium term and I got an overcooked dry meat. I was disappointed and since this was the second time in a row having a bad experience here, we have decided not to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food & pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had several really god dinners at Isabel's Cantina. The menu has some delish choices, the fish was one of my favs! The lighting is cozy, it is abit loud and hard to hear a coversation at your own table. The only thing I would change is something to make the restaurant a bit quieter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nadiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabel's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Isabel's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing