We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab 4 Fantastic, Seats are Atrocious!”

Humphreys Concerts by the Bay
Attraction details
Vista, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab 4 Fantastic, Seats are Atrocious!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Humphrey's should be ashamed of themselves for packing people into extremely narrow plastic folding seats that are tied together not allowing people to have comfort. Thank goodness the wonderful band told people to get up and dance/move to their music. A group of women sitting ahead of us were all complaining of the tight seats and they were no larger than size 8's. Pity anyone over that size. Humphrey's could remove two seats per row per section and make the comfort of their patrons a higher priority.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMay065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    12
    9
    10
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A little to uptight for rock but still fun”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A very nice, small venue to see a good list of bands together. We were lucky enough to hang out with Vertical Horizon and Gin Blossoms after their performances. Gin Blossoms called the crowd to the stage which made a rock concert break out. The only downer was after their set, the stage hands put an end to it. The one guy said "these people up front paid hundreds of dollars for their seats". It's clear they cater to the ultra-rich down here, but come on rock is rock.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wwoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Doobie Brothers concert!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've been to several concerts here. We always enjoy them. Then venue is very intimate and you never feel crowded. The hotel packages make this a great overnight get-away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect for Summer Nights.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Humphrey's is "the" music venue for perfect Summer nights. Where else could kayakers get a free music concert by the light of the moon?

Event parking was 10$, and I wish I knew that you can park your vehicle outside at zero cost, but hey, I am passing you the tip.

Sound was good, the weather was perfect, music was phenomenal.

Four solid stars to the venue.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank carmtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great music, awful seats”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Humphrey's has a great location, ample parking on Shelter Island, an attractive venue, an excellent lineup of entertainers and...those horrid small plastic seats. First time we went was in 2010 for Ringo Starr and I had someone's elbows in my ribs. Second time was Crosby, Stills and Nash in 2012 and I had someone's hips and belongings all over me. Ick. There is a lot to like about the venue and the crowd and the staff, but there is no getting around those seats unless you book a hotel room with a balcony. Or what about a dinghy in the harbor? Might be worth a thought.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank LJHSViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Humphreys Concerts by the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Humphreys Concerts by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing