We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hamburger I've ever eaten!”

Lucky's Lunch Counter
Ranked #351 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps/place?q=lucky&hl=en&cid=86025236699460472
Princeton NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hamburger I've ever eaten!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently my husband and I were in San Diego to take a tour of Petco Park (part of our bucket list to visit every major league baseball park). When we came out of the park we saw this very unassuming place across the street, Lucky's Lunch Counter. It certainly didn't look very fancy and I was a bit hesitant, but as soon as we got to the doorway, the absolutely wonderful smell drew us in. We each had the tastiest and best-cooked burger ever, along with an amazing shake. What a great surprise--we can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloGeo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Love all the Choices!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

So great that you can have so many choices for customizing your burger, it's a designer burger. And the shakes are just so so rich and yummy! This place definitely deserves a return visit. So, the return visit should be breakfast!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0rindaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious, quality homemade food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had the waffles-very tasty, my cousin had theTyrone sandwich and said it was amazing and the bacon was thick and delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kinserjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent place for breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lucky's was a great place for breakfast, total cost about $12 for a big breakfast with pancakes and eggs. Half the price of cafe 222, close to the convention center.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast place close to convention center”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stopped here on the way to a meeting for a large and excellent breakfast omelet, toast, and hash browns. It was almost empty and the service was good. The meal was very good. It is a cute place to grab a bit but not a place to dine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 688DavidR688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky's Lunch Counter also viewed

 

Been to Lucky's Lunch Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing