We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Staybridge San Diego!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
NY, NY
315
Reviewed September 9, 2004

I recently spent 2 weeks at the Staybridge in San Diego and found it to be a wonderful experience. The staff is attentive and friendly. They have the standard free laundry, breakfast and sundown reception, but the building is a converted Art Deco that has been marvelously transformed. This property apparently just opened as a Staybridge in January '04. It doesn't look like other Staybridges (they've tried to keep the art deco fee), but has all of the same amenities - including DVD players in each room. The crown jewel is the rooftop deck. It's close to Balboa Park and walking distance to everything downtown. Yet, since it's not in the heart of downtown, you avoid the noisy partiers and homeless population. I definitely recommend it!!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 87 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Highland, NY
17
Reviewed August 2, 2004

This is a very nice hotel, since it has been recently rennovated but there are some major complaints that cannot be ignored. The walls and floors are thin so be prepared to hear lots of doors slamming and pounding from up above. One thing that would help is if the doors had self closers on them so they wouldn't slam. My wife and I wake up 4 times a night because of this.

Positives: Friendly staff, clean rooms, breakfast included

Negatives: Noisy, thin walls, mediocore breakfast, shady neighborhood, $15 parking fee per day.(Hint. Refuse the parking pass and park for free on the street)

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
535
Reviewed July 6, 2004

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and thought the hotel itself was an excellent value. The room was new and clean, and it had everything you could possibly need. (It was an efficiency/suite.) They also served a good (free) breakfast in the morning. No complaints about the hotel itself except that shower pressure could have been better. The one drawback is the location. Yes, it is walking distance to Gaslamp, but it is through a slummy neighborhood. The one time we walked it, we were approached by several beligerent homeless people. Then again, most of downtown SD is like that...

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
111
Reviewed April 24, 2004

The Staybridge Riviera may be your POT 'O GOLD! Whether you're alone, with your family or one of a group, you will be delighted and satisfied with this property. I am the co-ordinator of tradeshows for my company, and since I traditionally stay in the convention city at least a week, I find I need the following factors as criteria: a pleasant, home-y room (like an efficiency apartment or suite) with enough space to spread out, a kitchenette, windows that open, a decent sized closet and a bathroom with plenty of counter top space, in the $130.00 range. After searching endlessly (read:anal) I stumbled upon the Staybridge, which exeeded my expectations. Although the pictures online show a nondescript exterior, I dug deeper and found out this is a hotel where the money has been spent where it counts: on the staff and the interior- in short; catering to us, the customer. The common areas are appointed with beautiful Art Deco detailing,(accessories hand-picked by Michael Shaff, the manager), the rooms beautifully decorated, the front end and back up staff friendly and very accommodating,and as far as the entire establishment, nothing unkempt ,unclean or shabby. After my visit, I called Michael the manager to compliment him on his wonderful employees,and to offer suggestions for minor additions pertaining to comforting additions in the rooms (from the female perspective), to which he was very receptive. Don't miss the lovely top floor outside deck where barbeques and appetizer receptions are held a few times a week (hosted bY Michael, I found out ). The reception staff I dealt with (Lori and Kara) were fantastic, the maintainance manager, Horatio was attentive to what I requested, and the cleaning staff was unfailingly freindly. This property has plans to expand it's facilities and room capacity, and your business this next year will no doubt help. Advice? unless you don't need to see the surrounding areas, request an outside room, on one of the 2 sides that either don't face the current parking lot or Mc Donalds. (which, suprisingly, pipes out classical music.) The surrounding area is undergoing updates, but as of March '04, this would be my recommendation. Staybidge was very convenient to the Gaslamp and downtown districts; in fact I even walked it, but cabs were only about $5.00 and the trolley was only 2 blocks away, was $3.00 roundtrip and simple to do. Please consider this wonderful hotel!!!

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank stefaniadiseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Letizia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank zoraidagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Inn at the Park
#125 of 286 in San Diego
564 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
WorldMark San Diego - Mission Valley
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#117 of 286 in San Diego
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park

Address: 1110 A St, San Diego, CA 92101-4732 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: $138 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Diego Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing