We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good bed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1110 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good bed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Once I was checked in and relaxing in my room I felt better after driving from Angel's Camp, CA. during LA rush hour traffic. I had a studio overlooking Park Blvd. across from San Diego City College (11th and A Street). Just across the street from the hotel, a McDonald's is open 24 hours/day. Other fast food places are within easy walking distance. Getting there was interesting due to the one way streets and the on ramp to/from 163. Limited parking only and $20 per night. The first night since they were sold out, I needed to pay $15 for 24 hours at another parking lot within view of the hotel. Homeless people were camped on the outskirts of the lot yet did not bother me. I used the hotel as a base as I did my excursions to OB, Mission and Pacific Beaches, etc. therefore I didn't walk around that area. Gaslight district (clubs and restaurants) is not far yet I don't think I would walk there and back at night. Petco Stadium is also in that district. I understand Worldmark just bought 3 more properties, one of which is up the hill from this location and in a better neighborhood. I also took the opportunity to find the Mission Valley location which is a tad interesting to find - very secluded, much larger, and has parking. Chris (?), at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The roof has a lovely area to see the view and relax in the lounges. I didn't partake as I was off each of my three days visiting my old haunts.

Room Tip: I had a corner room on the third floor. I could see the off ramp well and see the green grass of SD...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for a week in July on a family vacation for Comic Con. Great location - just two blocks to the train. The unit was a large studio with a full size kitchen. Staff was very nice and accomodating. Parking does cost $20 a day but it has security and was a better bet than parking on the street. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing out. Some have interior views which is pretty much looking across at other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a nice property located within walking distance of many of the downtown areas and attractions. Not much in the way of amenities, no pool, no grounds, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Not much to add to what was previously stated about the hotel, except that there is a pattern to which rooms have a view. All the odd number rooms seem to look out to the city from all 4 sides. However the even numbered rooms all just look into the inner air shaft. Luckily, it 75% of the rooms look outward. Maybe you can use this at check in to try to get a better room. Room 301 looks west, toward the main part of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred3nPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This resort was being remodeled while we stayed there - all new carpeting, The work was done with minimal discomfort to customers but it still detracted from the overall experience. Staff is very helpful. Business office and common rooms including game room were well appointed. The pool is small and in shadow much of the day as it is between sections of the resort. Several restaurants are within walking distance. We used the exercise facilities daily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird_17033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the WorldMark San Diego and could not have been more pleased with the location. We visited Coronado Island, took a yacht harbor tour of San Diego Bay, and went to the famous San Diego Zoo. Everything was a 20 minute drive or much less. The unit (321) was small, but adequate with a full size refrigerator and a 2 burner stove and microwave. No oven. Lovely rooftop deck with a bar (closed while we were here in late February). Watch the planes land at nearby airport. There is a small work out room, but if you go to the Zoo you will get plenty of exercise. We will definitely be staying here again as we drive from Phoenix and have a car. I don't know what the experience would be without transportation.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. There is a McDonalds across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyG_5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a remodelled hotel - quite charming. No real ammenities, no pool, restaurant etc. McDonalds right across the street and close to the gaslamp quarter (about a 15 minute walk).
If you are afraid of homeless people - take a cab - Parking will cost you $20 a night so check out street parking before you check in.
Overal a decent place to stay - Just bypass the (consierege after check in unless you want to sit and visit for a while)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miker023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
No photo provided
The Westgate Hotel
#24 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,600 reviews
Inn at the Park
#111 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park

Property: WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park
Address: 1110 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Diego Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing