We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel one block from convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #13 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
southern california
Level Contributor
246 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“excellent hotel one block from convention center”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Stayed one night while attending meeting at the convention center. I had a conf rate so it was not outrageously expensive. Very nice room, regular hotel room. I asked for quiet room no feathers and I got no feathers. Room was across from elevator but I never heard it. There was a problem with whistling sound coming from under door (air pressure) during the first hour or so - which was fixed by placing a towel at the bottom of the door, but it was gone later that night. Hard Rock Hotel across the street can be a bit noisy at night as are the trains etc next to the conv center. This is not such a quiet area. I slept fine albeit with foam earplugs. No fault of hotel it's just the area is not quiet. Very modern guest room well appointed and with an operable window - very nice for air quality in the room. Window also seals well and is double pane so it is quiet. Valet parking at $32/day is expensive but if you want there is a public garage across the street. McCormick and Schmicks restaurant is in the hotel good for seafood. Cafe has good assortment of muffins and pastries do not have to order room service breakfast. Also good coffee. I would stay here again if I were attending a conference.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,699
    1,034
    248
    96
    43
See reviews for
700
1,071
163
1,735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
253 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Very nice hotel - very typical of the Omni experience elsewhere. Good size rooms with outisde pool and gym on 6th floor. Helpful staff and very helpful bell men. Nice coffee shop too. Convenient to the convention center, but still within earshot of the Gaslight District - actually we could hear the Saturday night Gaslight parites late into the evening.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagoehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I visited the Omni Hotel for Valentine's day. When we arrived the person at the counter was very friendly and very helpful. When we got to our room it was beautiful. Everything was very clean and neat. The bathroom was a little small compared to other rooms we have stayed in but it was still nice. The bed was very comfortable and great! When we opened the window we could see the whole bay; it was amazing. This hotel is right next to Petco stadium (literally) you can see into the field from certain places in the hotel and it even has it's own walkway into the stadium. This hotel is also in the heart of the party scene. Lots of bars, shopping, and food all in walking distance. The only bad thing is parking, You have to pay to park.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed here for a show at the Convention Center and it was great. Perfect location - a short walk from the Conv. Ctr. and then to evenings out in the Gaslamp. Street side room was a little small but nicely decorated and new. Gym area was great as was the pool. Do check the bill as they tried to charge $10 to receive a small UPS package - they were nice enough to remove it. It got a little noisy on Friday night when the clubs let out and then some of them happen to be staying on our floor. The walls aren't thick so TV from neighboring room could be heard as could the shower and a phone conversation. We got a great deal on Priceline (less than $100 per night) so I won't sweat the small stuff. Overall, it is a very nice hotel, with a great staff and superb location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScooterCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

My colleague and I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the convention center. The hotel is pretty new and well maintained. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished. Bayside rooms offer a nice view of San Diego Bay.
If you like to sleep with the window open you may want to stay elsewhere though. The hotel is beside the commercial and light rail train tracks and next to the baseball stadium so it is very noisy with the windows open; with the windows closed though I didn't hear the trains much (double-paned glass) and they didn't wake me up.
Shower in room was one of the best hotel showers I’ve ever had. Good water strength and it had one of those curved shower curtains rods so the curtain didn’t stick to you. Don’t recommend you share the room with a colleague though as there are only shutters between the bathroom and bedroom so it is NOT sound proofed.
Hotel is within walking distance of the Gaslamp area, which contains a good variety of restaurants and the light rail transit is a 1 minute walk.
Hotel restaurant food is good but very pricey. No breakfast buffet is available so we had room service for breakfast, which was very expensive. Those on a budget would probably not want to stay here, but if you have a reasonable expense account it's a good place to stay.
You should definitely join the Omni Select Guest program so you don't have to pay $10/day for internet service (membership is free). Membership also entitles you to a free morning beverage, but double check you bill before you check out because room service didn't give me the appropriate credits.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostly_business1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Located a short walk from the convention center and one block off of the Gas Lamp district, but connected to the ballpark makes this an ideal location to entertain clients.

Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank perryspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax, va
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I brought my wife here on a bit of a surprise birthday vacation, and mentioned something about that in passing when requesting a bay view room. When we checked in, there was a piece of cake, champagne, and two glasses waiting for us on our bed, along with a very sweet happy birthday card signed by several staff members. Way to start on the right foot, Omni!

We had a room on the 19th floor with a wonderful view. True, the Hilton blocked a bit of the bay view, but I can't fault the Omni for Hilton building a hotel there. The train/trolley noise that other people have mentioned didn't bother us at all, and we didn't once notice it in the middle of the night. The location was fantastic, close to shopping, restaurants, night clubs... so much to do in the Gaslamp. A little tip, try the veggie nachos at Maryjane's, a coffeeshop/restaurant on 5th, attached to the Hard Rock. Sooooo good!!

The only downside we experienced AT ALL was that one of the window shutters on the bathroom didn't really like staying closed, but that's a very minor inconvenience compared to all of the positives. All of the staff was incredibly helpful, and very friendly, we would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanexedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing