We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I really enjoyed my four days at the Omni. The bed has a pillow-top mattress, the sheets are smooth and soft and I was very comfortable. The room was quiet and had a nice view. The doormen always opened the door as smiled as we came and went. One night a noisy party started in the room next door at 2 AM. I called the desk and within 5 minutes hotel security diffused the party and I slept well the rest of the night. The front desk staff printed my departing flight boarding pass for me the morning I left. For the location, view, and courteous staff I would recommend the Omni to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlainsDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,911 - 3,917 of 4,459 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

I was at the Omni just over 48 hours, and I spent most of the time going in and out. I became almost dependent on the parking valets who all turned out to be pleasant and helpful people. I couldn't have done this trip without their efficiency.

When I asked my travel service for a booking, I wanted to be close to the interstates, to the airport, and to downtown. To be at the foot of the Gaslight District and yet between the convention center and the baseball stadium was way, way over the top convenient -- though it made for some tricky traffic situations. I mainly used my 15th floor room's desk and Wifi when I was in, and I was pleased by the quiet up there even though there were planned events going on most of the time I was there. And even with guests arriving in gowns and formal wear, the valets got my car quickly and got me dispatched when I needed to go out.

My only problem came when I checked out at 5am Monday morning in order to catch a 7am flight. I decided to pay my bill with cash, and the hotel's billing computer and an inexperienced clerk couldn't make it work. My long stay at check-out brought out both the local hotel manager -- and then hotel security to see what was going on. When I got outside 20 minutes later, a smiling parking valet had my rental car there with my keys in his hand (worth a *big* tip :-) .

Nevertheless, I have **nothing but good things** to say about the Omni.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forest20851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

if I hadn't booked through Priceline, I'd be totally furious. The Omni has scratchy sheets, similar to bargain chains. The basin in the sink had a huge crack and I'm guessing it has been that way for a while. When we were leaving, there were four doorman standing together nearby who ignored us in unison. As my companion pointed out, at least at bargain hotels, there's be only one door person to ignore the patrons. Also, valet parking is $30 - or $8 across the street for self parking. My recommendation: Do NOT pay full price for this hotel. You'll be sadly disappointed if you do.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxuryLinens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2009

Dear LuxuryLinens,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I would like to extend my most sincere apology to you for the aspects of your stay that we did not meet your very reasonable expectations. Earlier this year, we upgraded our entire bedding package which included 250 thread count linen. For comparitive purposes, Consumer Reports states that cotton sheets with a thread count of 180-200 are considered satisfactory. I can only conclude that some form of deviation from our normal drying procedures may have negatively impacted softness. While an aberration, I do apologize for this less than satisfactory experience. I was also very concerned to read about your experience with our doormen. We absolutely understand that high performing hotels must create very positive first and last impressions and fortunately, based upon our #1 TripAdvisor rating among downtown San Diego hotels, we are normally very effective at creating positive arrival and departure impressions. Again, I sincerely apologize for your experience and hasten to add that your comments have been very helpful to us in re-focusing our efforts in this regard. Thank-you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

OK, I was a Priceline traveler, so those who pay in full might not share my enthusiasm. But I was not singled out as a Priceline traveler. I was even allowed to enter my Omni laylaty program number, which gave me a) free WiFi, b) free beverage every morning and c) a choice of newspapers - free. The room was big, right at the edge of the Gaslamp quarter, right on the other side of the tracks of the convention center. Cheerful employees. Ear buds for the odd train at night. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I requested a non-smoking room. They didn't have any left and forced me to stay in a non-smoking room. Ughh! For this kind of money, you would expect more.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juliogulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2009

Dear Juliogulio, Thank-you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I am very sorry that your room assignment impacted the enjoyment of your stay with us. We endeavor to accomodate all guest requests and while we are successful most of the time, I am very sensitive to the rare occasion where we are sold out and we have a shortfall in non-smoking rooms. Our housekeeping team works very hard to make sure that all rooms are clean, including air quality and an inviting first impression. I hope that we will have the opportunity restore your confidence in us soon. Again, please accept my most sincere apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This is mid-sized well run hotel in the middle of the action in downtown San Diego. It's a short walk to the convention center in one direction and the Gaslamp District in the other direction. Also, I could see Petco Park outside my window--you guessed it, a few blocks away. All in all, the stay was very satisfying. I had an end room with a very nice view. The only downside (probably true of any hotel in the immediate area) was the passing train traffic making a commotion quite often throughout the day. Were I not a good sleeper, it would have been a more significant problem. Service was prompt, pleasant and very good. While there were some convention meetings going on at the hotel, it was much less busy than the larger Hilton and Marriott that also tend to serve the convention crowd. All in all, this was a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed at the Omni San Diego for around a week while I attended a conference. It doesn't have the flashy new building which the Hilton does across the street, but it is the one we would definitely prefer to stay in. The moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable and it is conveniently located across from the convention center and Gaslamp district. The staff are exceptional: friendly and professional. During our week there, we were constantly impressed on how the little things were done well.
Sign up online for their Select program and your stay includes free wifi, beverages in the morning, and newspapers. Very nice touches. The room had wired and wireless internet with stable and fast connections, and important consideration if you're on a work trip.
There are a couple of negatives, the first being poor “smell insulation” from the bathroom to the bedroom (separated by an “open concept” wooden panel, not a wall), and the second being poor sound insulation between rooms. For example, during the initial part of our stay, we had an issue because the guests next door decided to hold all night parties throughout the weekend. To be fair, this was not a fault of the hotel that some of their guests were unruly. On the second night we phoned to complain (thrice!!) between 1am and 3am in the morning. The hotel promptly sent up the security guard, and later the manager. The next morning, the hotel staff reassigned us to a quieter, nicer room (thank you) and the night manager even sent a handwritten letter to apologise. Later I learnt that they decided not to rent out our room for another few days, till the noisy guests had left.
The responsiveness of the staff and their good service really stood out for us. We will definitely be back to stay at the Omni the next time we're in San Diego.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwanghui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,009 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#37 of 278 in San Diego
2,062 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $167 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing