We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #13 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

OK, I was a Priceline traveler, so those who pay in full might not share my enthusiasm. But I was not singled out as a Priceline traveler. I was even allowed to enter my Omni laylaty program number, which gave me a) free WiFi, b) free beverage every morning and c) a choice of newspapers - free. The room was big, right at the edge of the Gaslamp quarter, right on the other side of the tracks of the convention center. Cheerful employees. Ear buds for the odd train at night. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,657
    1,021
    242
    95
    40
See reviews for
688
1,062
162
1,699
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

I requested a non-smoking room. They didn't have any left and forced me to stay in a non-smoking room. Ughh! For this kind of money, you would expect more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliogulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear Juliogulio, Thank-you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I am very sorry that your room assignment impacted the enjoyment of your stay with us. We endeavor to accomodate all guest requests and while we are successful most of the time, I am very sensitive to the rare occasion where we are sold out and we have a shortfall in non-smoking rooms. Our housekeeping team works very hard to make sure that all rooms are clean, including air quality and an inviting first impression. I hope that we will have the opportunity restore your confidence in us soon. Again, please accept my most sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hiils, NY
Level Contributor
225 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

This is mid-sized well run hotel in the middle of the action in downtown San Diego. It's a short walk to the convention center in one direction and the Gaslamp District in the other direction. Also, I could see Petco Park outside my window--you guessed it, a few blocks away. All in all, the stay was very satisfying. I had an end room with a very nice view. The only downside (probably true of any hotel in the immediate area) was the passing train traffic making a commotion quite often throughout the day. Were I not a good sleeper, it would have been a more significant problem. Service was prompt, pleasant and very good. While there were some convention meetings going on at the hotel, it was much less busy than the larger Hilton and Marriott that also tend to serve the convention crowd. All in all, this was a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed at the Omni San Diego for around a week while I attended a conference. It doesn't have the flashy new building which the Hilton does across the street, but it is the one we would definitely prefer to stay in. The moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable and it is conveniently located across from the convention center and Gaslamp district. The staff are exceptional: friendly and professional. During our week there, we were constantly impressed on how the little things were done well.
Sign up online for their Select program and your stay includes free wifi, beverages in the morning, and newspapers. Very nice touches. The room had wired and wireless internet with stable and fast connections, and important consideration if you're on a work trip.
There are a couple of negatives, the first being poor “smell insulation” from the bathroom to the bedroom (separated by an “open concept” wooden panel, not a wall), and the second being poor sound insulation between rooms. For example, during the initial part of our stay, we had an issue because the guests next door decided to hold all night parties throughout the weekend. To be fair, this was not a fault of the hotel that some of their guests were unruly. On the second night we phoned to complain (thrice!!) between 1am and 3am in the morning. The hotel promptly sent up the security guard, and later the manager. The next morning, the hotel staff reassigned us to a quieter, nicer room (thank you) and the night manager even sent a handwritten letter to apologise. Later I learnt that they decided not to rent out our room for another few days, till the noisy guests had left.
The responsiveness of the staff and their good service really stood out for us. We will definitely be back to stay at the Omni the next time we're in San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwanghui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed everything about the Omni. We were on the 20th floor with a corner room overlooking the city and the ocean. The room was fantastic and we really couldn't have asked for more. We have stayed in other boutique style hotels, but unfortunately the noise level at those were a bit too much, especially on a weekend. Here, we couldn't hear the noise at all. The location was perfect for walking around the Gaslamp District. The people were so helpful and nice and the overall feel was very welcoming. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

My Wife Myself, & our Handicapped Son stayed at this hotel and had a wonderful time here. The Hotel is a real gem, with brilliant Staff who go the extra mile to help guests and make your stay a great one. Give this hotel a try and you won't be dissapointed. Ask for Charles he is a great Guy and will look after you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

The Omni is in a GREAT location, right in the Gaslamp District. It's actually attached to Petco Field. You can walk to tons of restaurants and shops. The rooms are nice (this is my 2nd time staying here.) I was upgraded to a suite, but would have actually preferred a room with a balcony. My suite had an adjoining room, which I could hear the people staying in that room early in the morning. Beds are super comfy and the service was good as well. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlms1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,625 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing