We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, wonderful service, super convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2006

Just got back from a week stay at the Omni - Gaslamp. The hotel was great, the service was supurb. We got a standard room on the 15th floor, corner lot. We had a balcony and a great view of the ocean and sunset. The bed and pillows were the best EVER. I agree with the other reviews...parking across the street is MUCH cheaper than valet. Another review I read mentioned a breakfast joint on 4th street called the Cheese Shop...I highly suggest this location - the food was perfect and service was quick and friendly. There is a nice Mediterranean type Restaurant a block away from the hotel called Dussini. The hotel has a copy of the menu at the front desk for preview. This place was funky (but not too funky) up beat and friendly. The food was outstanding (I got the lobster Mac & Cheese a MUST try). There are pool tables and a great bar area on their third level. All and all - I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank annabelle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,405)
There are newer reviews for Omni San Diego Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,159 - 4,165 of 4,406 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2006

I've stayed here twice, once in a standard room...once in a JR Suite. Excellent location in the heart of the Gaslamp. Great dining, drinks and fun within steps of the front door (Try the fish tacos at The Tin Fish next door, amazing) The service is quick and friendly, the valet is lightning fast and our stay was very enjoyable. Would definately recommend this classic hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shawnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2006

My fiancée and I stayed at the Omni for four days in December at $99 a night off of Priceline. It was above and beyond the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The location is incredible, our view of the bay was unreal, and the hotel feels brand new. I spent an hour in the heated pool and hot tub every evening. I never wanted to leave. Check out the Gaslamp Strip Club steak house one block away. It’s a great restaurant – trust me.

I read the reviews that complained about parking and I would like to offer a suggestion. Transit passes.

I ordered two three-day transit passes from [-] for $12 a piece and that allows for unlimited bus and trolley use. No parking hassles, no $24/day valet expense, no getting lost, and no dealing with parking on the other end. Here are some of the things we did, very easily, using the busses and trolleys:

San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park (#7 bus)
The Beaches (#34 bus)
Fashion Valley/Qualcom Stadium (for a football game) (Trolley)
Midway Aircraft Carrier Museum (Trolley)
Old Town (Trolley)
Sea World (Trolley to Old Town, #9 bus)
Petco Park Tour (Walked)

All of this info is very easily available on the sdcommute website.

I’ll admit, riding the bus with the mass-transit crowd certainly takes away from the feeling of staying in a four-star hotel, but it was nice not to have to deal with a car for a few days. The trolley, while limited in its range, is pretty nice. On the fifth day, I took the #922 bus to the airport, rented a car, and we drove to Vegas.

8  Thank Josh767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2006

Ditto to the other glowing comments. I'd add that the pool is well heated and comfortable on a chilly day. The exercise room is good. The big surprise was the restaurant, McCormick and Schmidt, which was darn good. I usually steer clear of hotel restaurants, but tried this because we were too tired to go out. They have a ridiculously appealing happy hour where you can get a $1.99 "appetizer" with your drink. Appetizers such as a half pound burger with the fixings and fries! Don't have the bad cheese plate though. But for that price you can try everything. The drinks are very reasonably priced. For dinner, the kids menu is only $5. and the shrimp, e.g. are large prawns, not that frozen popcorn shrimp. The rest. specializes in seafood and the fish is so fresh that they post the catch date on the menu. Beware the preparation, though, which overpowers the excellent fish. Go for the simplest preparation. After one happy hour and one dinner, the manager came over and handed us a gift certificate for breakfast. The place is casual yet fancy, if that can be. Not a "kid" place, but kids are welcome and treated well.

Stayed: December 2005
4  Thank myhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

My family stayed in 2 rooms in this hotel on Christmas evening. I found a great rate of $99 / night on travelzoo. Per the reviews, we parked the car ourselves in the garage across the street instead of using the valet to save $. Rooms were very nice and one overlooked the ballpark. Location was nice as we woke up the next day and went walking / running on the path along the water. I would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TaraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

The hotel is very near the trolley stop and the entrance to the gas lamp quarter. We had a lovely room with a view of the bay. However, the walls are pretty thin. We could hear the neighbours to the left and to the right of us which is quite unacceptable really. There also appeared to be no lounge to lounge in and we had to make reservations for breakfast !? Perhaps it was because it was Christmas...or something. Really, not a bad hotel otherwise. At least internet access was free.

Stayed: December 2005
6  Thank slnsalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2005

I just returned from San Diego with my husband and 4 yr old daughter. The Omni was fantastic. We arrived at 11am and were able to check in immediately. We stayed in a room with a bay view. The rooms were very cleaned and restocked daily. Valet parking is $24. Pretty outrageous since you can park your car yourself (in the same parking garage that they would park your car) right across from the hotel for only about $8 or $9 a night.
This hotel is in a great location. It is just steps away from the Gaslamp quarter, about 5 mins from Coronado, and about 15 mins from the zoo and Sea World. If you have time, drive up the coast and visit the many beaches: Mission, Pacific and La Jolla. They are beautiful. At La Jolla cove you can see seals on the beach!
The staff was very friendly. On our last morning there we visited Coronado. The doorman recommended the Crown Bistro on Orange Ave. for breakfast. It was great! We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rcazares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,950 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $172 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing