We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego Pleasures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Excellent location; convenient to restaurants, trolley stops; wonderful staff from time of our arrival until we left. We were surprised to find champagne and strawberries to celebrate our anniversary in our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Mark S.,
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope you had a very Happy Anniversary!
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,355 - 2,361 of 4,455 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

Wonderful location right at the Gaslamp Quarter and Petco Park. Friendliest, most helpful staff. Really outstanding. Little bottles of water in our car when we got it back from the valet - that was a really thoughtful touch! Only quibble about the room....there are louvered shutters in the bathroom on both sides of the sink that face the bed so there is a feeling of a lack of privacy when you are using the bathroom. One can't see in but they can certainly hear everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Tammy S.,
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and our terrific staff. Thank you also for the feedback on the bathroom shutter design.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We only stayed one night at the Omni but really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were large and spacious. The bathrooms were large and fully stocked. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of pillows. We had a fast check in as everything was already waiting for us. The bell hop escorted us up to the rooms and was very helpful. Security was tight as the San Francisco Giants were also checking in that evening but we were not inconvenienced by the added security. The location was excellent next to the ball park and close to plenty of restaurants. The first floor bar was a nice place to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Eve G.
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

we spent four nights here. loved everything about it! every time our car came it had bottles of cold water, the room was wonderful, great view of the ball park. close to and convenient to everything. competitive price and well worth every penny and more!

Room Tip: our room faced north, view of the outfield. I think the rooms facing the bay would be great but our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brentj539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear brentj539,
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Arrived on a Thursday with the family, hotel is in THE perfect spot for attending a Padres game. Very reasonable rate for the room that comfortably slept four. Our room had a terrific little balcony from which we could see part of the stadium & baseball game. Atmosphere is just terrific. Staff were great, room was absolutely perfect. Great location for Padres, getting to the zoo, Midway. Pool is "ok", kind of small but the kids liked it. The restaurant on the main floor,McCormick & Schmidts is just ok. Ate their twice as we were tired and they had openings, other than this I wouldn't eat their again. Far better places within a 5 minute walk. We had breakfast 3 of 4 days @ the Broken Yolk which is about a 3 or 4 minute walk up 6th Avenue. Worth the trip, better, healthier choices, great staff and also a lot more reasonable than Omni. Were planning a return trip and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else other than the Omni.

Room Tip: Coose a room on an upper floor that overlooks the ball park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AMAC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear AMAC1985,
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a great time in San Diego. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

People say keep an eye on your transactions in America but I didn't think id have to do it in what's supposed to be the safety of a hotel.Me and my fiancé where drinking at the pool bar where we worked up a tab over a couple of hours when I asked to pay the bill the waitress brought it to me, like normal I checked the value signed it and I left a 15% cash tip..that night I was checking my statement online and I noticed that the women charged 20% above the amount I had authorised. When I approached the front desk to ask about the charge they didn't no what to say to me so eventually I was told they would contact me in my room when they investigated it,, I had only left the reception and got back to my room when I got a phone call to tell me that she "thinks" it might be an overcharge and it will "probably" go back onto my card, I explained that a charge can't be placed on my card unless I authorised it or was told about the charge she really didn't no what to tell me so she just apologised and offered me ONE free drink!! Which was at the same bar with the woman who had robbed my card! I refused the drink and to be honest I'm not some1 who makes a fuss so I decided to leave the matter and just to get out of the hotel and enjoy the rest of my holiday. I wasn't going to let it ruin it for me.i enjoyed that day at the pool bar so it was a shame I felt so uncomfortable that I couldn't go back up or even use my card in the hotel again. I'm two weeks in America now and we have been in 6 cities so far.. The Omni San Diego is the only black mark on this holiday, it really ruined our stay in San Diego which is a shame. the fact I raised the matter while still in the hotel and nothing was done is bad management I knew the girl at the desk didn't no what to say or do and just wanted me to drop it, maybe I shouldn't have but I did but I don't think it should have been left up to me on my holiday to chase a matter this serious after raising the problem in the first place,, I'm not going to tell you not to stay in this hotel it's your choice, but just be careful because even when you think you are safe you are probably at your most vulnerable.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Robsmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Mr. Smith,
Thank you for sharing your experience and for the direct email communication with me.
I apologize for the confusion and unnecessary worry that our Debit Card authorization process caused. We have reviewed with our front desk team to ensure that they are explaining this to all arriving guests so we can avoid any similar confusion in the future.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed at the Omni for five nights on a vacation from Australia. We were very impressed with this hotel and the competitive room prices made it even more attractive. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was perfectly presented and was located in the ideal location for stepping out at night for dinner in the gas lamp district. Be aware that this area becomes extremely busy after a baseball game at night and most of these people will be in full party mode.

I would suggest parking your car across the road in the ace car park as this will save you roughly $25 a night. Omni hotels valet service uses this parking facility also so it is safe and secure.

Make sure you try the restaurant within the hotel as it offers exceptional service, lovely food and setting. If you prefer room service the food was delicious, very reasonable and very quick.

Another bonus is the hotel is connected to Petco park via a sky bridge which gives you easy access if you wish to watch a ball game. The concierge sourced us great seats and we just walked across the bridge to our seats to watch our first baseball game.

My main complaint would be we requested a bay view room which did not eventuate as we were told they were all booked out. Given that we stayed there for 5 nights I felt they could have given us the option to move if a room became available. Lastly the pool needs more attention as the water is very cloudy and there was too much hair floating around, yuck!

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and with a few minor tweaks I would happily give them a full five stars.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
5,006 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#35 of 278 in San Diego
2,060 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $167 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing