We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable sojourn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Capistrano, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable sojourn”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Friends and family gathered for a weekend celebration of a wedding. The public spaces in the hotel provided good gathering spots. All our guests had nice things to say about their accommodations and service. McCormick & Schmidt provided excellent food and outstanding service

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,823
    1,071
    264
    107
    44
See reviews for
763
1,114
164
1,804
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have stayed here multiple times and will continue to return. The service is very good and the convenience of location is excellent. It is very nice to be able to use the sky bridge to go to Petco Field.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 448shannak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very good location and very nice business hotel. Nice rooms, clean, comfortable with good facilities. But any hotel which charges its 'guests' 7 USD for a bottle of water does not have 'guests' it just has customers. The noise form the hotel opposite is intrusive on Friday nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very nice hotel, good views. Do not stay bayside as the train noise will drive you nuts. Santa Fe trains noisy at 2-3AM, stayed there for a long time with engines on, them the boom from the metal carriages. Ended buying earplugs and had some of the best night's sleep in a long time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Garret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay. It is local to The Padres stadium (right behind it). Local to San Diego's famous GasLamp district where there is a huge variety of restaurants, nightlife and great (the best) people watching. One of my favorite places to go. wish I was vacationing instead of working!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

From the moment we walked into the lobby, we were impressed. The Front Desk staff greeted us cheerfully and checked us in quickly and COURTEOUSLY. I say that with caps as I have experienced borderline, marked decrease in customer service when they see that your reservation was made using Priceline.
Regarding food option - Off to the side is a small McCormick & Schmick's restaurant (pricey) and on the other side, a mini Starbucks with very good prices and selection. Right across the street is a restaurant - the Fish Tin House - so meals will not be a problem. Great ice cream shoppe is a block away famous for its ice cream cookies. The Gaslamp is literally 50 steps from the hotel entrance.
We took the elevators to the 21st floor which gave us incredible views of the city. We used the pool which was a bit disappointing (6th floor). The pool is small and only 3 1/2 feet deep everywhere and the spa was extremely crowded, we couldn't get in. They had a high school team that took over the pool area. The chaise lounges were extremely worn and tattered - very surprising as the whole pool area is beautiful. You can even dine around the pool while enjoying views of the city.
We were originally offered to stay on the 6th and should have taken the offer. The rooms, poolside, have doors that look into the pool area BUT segregated by a glass wall for security. The exercise room is also on this floor as well as some of the meeting rooms. There is a bridge from the hotel to the stadium - so convenient!
Linens and towels were great - thick and fluffy as was the pillows. The amenities were upgraded and I just loved the bathroom - spacious, well lighted, and an awesome showerhead.
This hotel's service is 5 star - attentive, polite, and helpful employees are every where. I did give it a 4 star as supplied parking was valet only at $38 per night. We actually self-parked across the street for $15 and it was not far.
Loved the hotel and this is my new destination when staying in downtown SD.

Room Tip: Great location and stay on the 6th floor if your family is travelling with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCaMOMof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I'd read a lot of reviews of this hotel before I arrived. The reviews are mainly positive, very much so, and I didn't believe the hotel could be that good. But it was!

Every staff member I came in contact with was exceptionally friendly and competent.

The hotel is modern, but in a conservative way that would appeal to a variety of travellers.

I had a corner room on level 17 which was a good size and well appointed. It included a balcony on one side and windows on another.

I also had an in-room fitness kit (mat, hand weights, kettle bell, therabands, towel and bottled water). I requested a complimentary refrigerator to be put in my room as the mini bar is full and requires a key.

I joined their rewards program and received complimentary internet, a morning beverage each day and two items pressed for free.

The gym was well equipped. But I didn't like the layout where the huffy puffy weight lifters were right behind the treadmills checking out the women from behind. Yes, they were. The behaviour of guests is not the hotel's fault.

To note:

The property is right by Gaslamp which is a fun but busy/noisy area. The ballpark is also right next to it, again more noise. One side fronts the railway lines which means some noise and ugly views that way. But there is a trolley stop right by the hotel.

As I had a corner room I only had one wall connecting to another room. I could hear water in the pipes when they showered and drawers opening/closing.

None of these bothered me. I sleep pretty well and was there on vacation not for business.

My only complaint is the service after I checked out. The bellman put my luggage cart outside and told me a taxi would be organised by Riley the valet. Riley spent 10+ minutes loading Dodgers luggage into their van and totally ignored me. I could see the line of taxis across the road and should have just flagged one myself. Eventually he noticed me. Maybe have extra staff on when ball players are staying so that all guests are treated well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSkiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear MelbourneSkiGirl,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very thankful that you took the time to share your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#78 of 278 in San Diego
4,879 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing