We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #13 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location. Nice hotel with nice rooms. I wouldn't say that I was overwhelmed by this hotel in any way. It's great for its location and the fact that you can walk to anywhere in the gaslamp or roll over and you're at a Padres game. Check-in was smooth, but they weren't falling for any of our not-so-subtle requests for some sort of upgrade for our 10th anniversary. We ended up paying $20 for a better view, and they sent up a demi-bottle of red wine for us. We signed up for the rewards club so that we could get free internet and morning drinks (coffee or juice) delivered to the room. Decent perk, but the internet fee still showed up on the bill so we had to go get them to take it off at the front desk. Not a big deal, but a nuisance.
I would definitely go back if I could get the same very low rate, but I wouldn't want to pay big bucks for this hotel. Great location, but not a lot of personality.

Look for a deal - they're out there. Low price makes this place a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwolfinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,699
    1,034
    248
    96
    43
See reviews for
700
1,071
163
1,735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recommend a room with a view. The hotel is close to shopping and across the street from San Diego convention center. Front desk is friendly and had excellent customer service, the hotel extremely clean, my room was very comfortable, decor was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lanell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great hotel - fresh, clean, functional. Great location - central, easy to reach, easy to walk to key areas, good access to public transport, public and valet parking within reach. Exceptional staff and service - friendly, service-minded, accommodating, flexible

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Per D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Omni. The location is perfect - right at the entrance of the Gaslamp District. The service was superb - every employee was pleasant, helpful, attentive and knowledgeable. The room was plush and beautiful and the view was fantastic.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank angiepagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Centrally located in the new heart of San Diego. Walking distance to all of the Gas Lamp, convention center and sea port village plus the trolley. The hotel is modern and connected to Petco. Across the street parking $15/day or valet at the hotel for $35+, both very easy. Tons of restaurants nearby or jump on the trolley for Little Italy or Old Town. This is our fifth time at the Omni San Diego and we LOVE IT !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe Springs, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice looking hotel, great staff, but way too noisy! You are advised to get a room WITHOUT a view, so you are away from the noisy railroad tracks. Beware too, beds are against neighbor's TV wall, so if your neighbor is a late night TV watcher - you are in for a long night!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Tracy M.
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am terribly sorry you were affected by both interior and exterior noise while staying with us. I hope you are in receipt of my email and that we have the opportunity to discuss further.
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your business.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

From top to bottom, we received incredible customer service throughout our entire stay. We called the hotel in advance to request bed choice and a microwave - everything was taken care of upon check-in. We even received a complimentary kids activity pack for our toddler and free wi-fi and free room service coffee by signing up for their loyalty program. Friendliest hotel service we've ever encountered!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing