We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #13 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Omni while visiting California the week of July 4. The location was great and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice view over the water. We enjoyed evening walks in the gaslight district and the accessibility to the many attractions in San Diego. The small touches were such as finding cold water bottles in the car in the morning added to the feeling of being welcomed.

The only negative is the high cost of parking but that is in line with other San Diego hotels so it is nothing specific to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nissan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,792
    1,064
    261
    101
    44
See reviews for
738
1,105
164
1,792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is located perfectly close to the Gasllamp Quarter. We had a room on the 12th floor with a beautiful view on the Petco stadium. We were 4 in the room and there was enough space for everyone to feel comfortable. Together with our room booking we had ordered breakfastvouchers. You pay 20$, but it has a 25$ value. This way you could order what you liked from the outstanding breakfast menu.
Enlist as an Omni Elite member, which a.o
gives you free morning beverages delivered on your room in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisgenote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was really all the little things. My first night I came back to milk and cookies and a bottle of cold water in my room, as part of the turn down service. Several times on retrieving my car from valet, there were cold bottled water left in there for me. The staff was very courteous and friendly.
The location can't be beat, across from the convention center and connected to Petco. Walk out the door and you are in the Gaslamp district surrounded by shopping and restaurants.
The baseball memorabilia sprinkled throughout the hotel a nice touch and fascinating.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sborodolfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of San Diego where outstanding restaurants are within a two - three block walking distance. Lots to see and do and when you are tired, return to a luxury hotel. The hotel experience was excellent with the room providing a wonderful vista of San Diego and the waterfront area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Santiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Omni because we were seeing a baseball game at Petco Park and the hotel is connected to the ball park. We were pleasantly surprised at the ease of access to the ball park. I dressed a little to warm for the game and went back to our room to change. I was back in my seat in under 10 minutes. It's that convenient. Our room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. I read other reviews complaining about the bathroom door situation. I don't get those complaints. Our bathroom door was wood and glass and slid closed. It didn't lock, but who cares? If you're concerned that the person you're sharing a room with will burst in, you should perhaps reconsider who you choose to share a hotel room with. Also, people complained that the bathroom door wasn't adequate to block "noises" coming from the bathroom into the bedroom area. I don't get that either. I am pretty shy about such things and almost didn't stay at the Omni because of those reviews. I'm glad I took a gamble because this was not an issue at all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We moved to this hotel from our ocean spot to better experience downtown San Diego. The hotel is your standard Omni, clean, comfortable. When three of the four elevators were not in service one morning, the staff went to extra measures to make up for the inconvenience. There is no coffee maker in the room but the breakfast I pre-purchased online was outstanding and very plentiful. The staff was pleasant and very helpful with suggesting transportation and ideas on how to spend 18 hours in the city.

Room Tip: Be prepared for unusual bathroom doors. It closes on a slider leaving fairly large gaps in the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ellen O. -
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'd like to offer my apologies for any inconveniences caused by the elevator issues we experienced during your stay. The problem has been rectified but I understand your frustration.
We do take all guest feedback to heart and thank you for the feedback.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Omni San Diego is ideally located, with easy access to the Gaslamp Quarter, Bayside attractions and public transport. The restaurants of the Gaslamp are numerous and excellent, although you will pay for the quality. Check out the Broken Yoke for excellent breakfasts at approximately $10 to $15 per person. The Bayside offers excellent tourist attractions, including the USS Midway Aircraft Carrier Museum Ship and the San Diego Maritime Museum, both of which I recommend highly. $5 a day (plus a one time charge of $2 for the card) gets you access to an excellent public transport system, with easy access, via trolley and bus, to the San Diego Zoo and Sea World, approximately 30 minute travel time to each, or you could opt for a cab rid of $15 each way to either of these. You should be aware of the high homeless population of San Diego, but I had no issues and felt safe throughout my travels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,831 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing