We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exceptional customer service...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #15 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional customer service...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here while attending a trade show at the convention center, so this hotel was super convenient. I had no complaints about the quality of the room either; pretty standard for an Omni property, so no surprises. What made my stay here was how accommodating the staff was when I got sick with the flu on my last day in San Diego. I had 8 hours to kill before my red-eye flight and they let me rest in my room for basically an entire day after I had checked out, free of charge. The staff even brought me bottled water and called to check on me. This really made preparing for the ordeal of flying home sick much more bearable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamBroBra_Intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,510
    970
    226
    90
    39
See reviews for
646
1,010
155
1,587
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
456 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We re-visited this hotel again for a second visit. It had been a few years yet nothing
had changed as far as customer service is concerned. This trip we were upgraded
to a corner room on the 17th floor,which provided panoramic views of the bay and bridge.
The room was more amazing than our previous trip and renewed my level of appreciation
for the Omni. The bathroom had large slat shutters to open so you could even see the
view while at the mirror washing your hands or putting on make up. What a treat this
place is for any traveler. The front desk is kind and efficient. Everything is clean and
well decorated. The only minor complaint I can muster up is that the plumbing sounds
are still apparent, which I had remembered from our first visit. Not horrible, just subtle reminders of neighboring rooms using a shower or tub. The visit was almost perfect except for our departure. Apparently some elevator troubles that shut down service to all but one of the lifts. It was a very long wait to get down to the lobby. Can't really fault the hotel for mechanical chaos, but it was rather annoying. Beyond these two minor problems, this Omni is in a wonderful location in the midst of downtown with all it's great restaurants and the ballpark. The mattress and bedding make for a heavenly night sleep. Extra room perks including closet safe, plush bathrobes and towels plus morning newspaper and delivered coffee add to the already great experience. We will return :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although this hotel is convenient to the Gaslamp and Petco Park, the pool area is small, parking is outrageous, and you don't get a whole lot for your money other than a clean room. Park across the street for a fraction of the hotel cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Stacy B.,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I'm very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay, particularly with the pool size and the parking fees. The downtown hotels in San Diego do predominantly offer Valet parking and you are correct that there is a city-owned lot directly across the street. Please note that for those lots they aren't managed by the hotel and they do not permit in & out privileges, something that most guests do need when traveling.
We take all guest feedback seriously and thank you for your business..
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Pricey hotel, service only average. We were there to attend baseball games at PetCo field, and the location is perfect for that. McCormicks restaurant was also below par. Definitely not worth the money. Great place to stay if you are attending baseball, or an event at the convention center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sharon C.,
Thank you for talking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and with the restaurant.
We take all guest feedback seriously and are sorry we failed to meet your expectations.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, IA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Other than slight problem with the room temperature being too hot, the stay with Omni San Diego was wonderful. The location adjacent to the convention center was idea, as was the availability of close transportation, the diverse downtown area. The staff was probably the best I have ever encountered in an upscale hotel. They were consistently helpful, congenial and efficient in handling any request. The room was a dream offereing a balcony overlooking the convention center, and a side view of the ocean as well. The housekeeping staff was very efficient, and ever willing to fulfill any requests I might have on a daily basis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Billie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel to go to the Padres vs. Giants series. The location is perfect. There is a private entry into the park for hotel quests. The customer service at this hotel is also perfect. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room had a great view of the ocean and a part of the ballpark. Also located in the Gaslamp District and everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Only stayed on a higher floor but, the view was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 420sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Decided on a quick, 3 day trip to San Diego over the 4th of July. This was our first visit to San Diego. We decided to simply take a cab from the airport to the Omni since it was so close and also because of the short duration of our stay. Great location for this hotel. Across from the convention center, very near the harbor, right next to a light rail stop and also at the foot of the Gaslamp District. Fastest check in ever at any hotel we have ever stayed at...basically walked up, showed my credit card and DL aand was given a portfolio with our key and room information. Could not have been more than 15 seconds! Room was beautiful, well appointed and comfortable. Great view! Pool and drink/food service at the pool were wonderful. Door staff very attentive and friendly. Had an after dinner drink at the bar in McCormick and Schmick...very nice. I would not stay anywhere else if I were to come to San Diego again in the future. Be sure to become a Select Guest member if it is your first time at an Omni...lots of nice perks and it is a free program.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank joeymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#49 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#16 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing