We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Pricey hotel, service only average. We were there to attend baseball games at PetCo field, and the location is perfect for that. McCormicks restaurant was also below par. Definitely not worth the money. Great place to stay if you are attending baseball, or an event at the convention center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Sharon C.,
Thank you for talking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and with the restaurant.
We take all guest feedback seriously and are sorry we failed to meet your expectations.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,416)
There are newer reviews for Omni San Diego Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,111 - 3,117 of 4,419 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Other than slight problem with the room temperature being too hot, the stay with Omni San Diego was wonderful. The location adjacent to the convention center was idea, as was the availability of close transportation, the diverse downtown area. The staff was probably the best I have ever encountered in an upscale hotel. They were consistently helpful, congenial and efficient in handling any request. The room was a dream offereing a balcony overlooking the convention center, and a side view of the ocean as well. The housekeeping staff was very efficient, and ever willing to fulfill any requests I might have on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Billie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel to go to the Padres vs. Giants series. The location is perfect. There is a private entry into the park for hotel quests. The customer service at this hotel is also perfect. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room had a great view of the ocean and a part of the ballpark. Also located in the Gaslamp District and everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Only stayed on a higher floor but, the view was fantastic!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 420sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Decided on a quick, 3 day trip to San Diego over the 4th of July. This was our first visit to San Diego. We decided to simply take a cab from the airport to the Omni since it was so close and also because of the short duration of our stay. Great location for this hotel. Across from the convention center, very near the harbor, right next to a light rail stop and also at the foot of the Gaslamp District. Fastest check in ever at any hotel we have ever stayed at...basically walked up, showed my credit card and DL aand was given a portfolio with our key and room information. Could not have been more than 15 seconds! Room was beautiful, well appointed and comfortable. Great view! Pool and drink/food service at the pool were wonderful. Door staff very attentive and friendly. Had an after dinner drink at the bar in McCormick and Schmick...very nice. I would not stay anywhere else if I were to come to San Diego again in the future. Be sure to become a Select Guest member if it is your first time at an Omni...lots of nice perks and it is a free program.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank joeymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great place to stay. Nice rooms. Great staff. Great proximity to Convention Center, Gas Lamp District, Petco Park, and Green Line (trolley to take you most other places in the city). Great pool on the sixth floor with views to the Convention Center and the San Diego harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Omni for our anniversary and my birthday. The staff were very friendly and attentive, and even sent us up complimentary champagne and strawberries - great start to our stay! Definitely recommend signing up (free) for the loyalty program...complimentary morning beverages were a treat. And as we had our baby girl with us, we found the Omni to also be family friendly as she was welcomed along with us and we also saw several other families there. The view is also amazing! Will definitely be coming back. Thanks to the Omni staff for making our anniversary that much more special!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank westcoasthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location: 1 block away from the Gas Lamp Quarter and 4 blocks from the shopping centre.

Overall: a nice hotel with a well equipped room though slightly on the smaller side. One main criticism with the room was the lighting. There are 3 lamps in the main room area but no ceiling lights. In the evening, with all the lights on, the room still is unevenly lit!

We became ‘Select’ members at check in. ‘Apparently’ its free to join and in return you get a discounted rate for 24hrs of wifi and complimentary morning beverages.

We ordered room service one evening and it arrived swiftly within 30 mins and was very good.

There is a business centre for guests where you can print your boarding passes for free which came in very handy.

We were only here for 1 night so didn’t get the chance to visit the restaurants or the pool.

Verdict: Not as good as the Marriot Marquis but overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil_punjabi_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 278 in San Diego
4,961 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#40 of 278 in San Diego
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $171 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing