We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pay extra and stay elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #18 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ready to pay $38 for valet (the highest in the city?) because there is NO self-parking at this hotel? Ready for screaming people on the streets at all hours of the night because you are next door to the stadium and the Gaslamp district? Then stay here. If you want small rooms, obnoxious loud tourists, overpriced parking, expensive rooms that aren't worth the money, then stay here. If you want a peaceful, calm vacation - stay elsewhere. This place is a joke. Stay at the Hyatt or the Marriott only a few blocks away. Same price. Nicer rooms. Cheaper parking. And no screaming and horn blowing all night long. (oh, and they do NOT have a spa, despite what you may read on some websites)

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank usnaturedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,405)
There are newer reviews for Omni San Diego Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,126 - 3,132 of 4,405 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Room was fine and clean. Nothing extravagant, but nice. The train is noisy, but that is the case of most hotels in this area. Good walking distance to major downtown sites. Great location next to Petco Park! Bonus is having McCormick & Schmick's restaurant in the hotel. We had two great breakfasts and a dinner. Try the crab cakes benedict - excellent. Parking is $38/day for hotel guests

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UniversityTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great Staff, service, location, price, & cleanliness! My wife and i were traveling to Cabo to celebrate our 25th. We had scheduled a day in San Diego first to goto the zoo with the kids. We had a great time and loved the Omni.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Decided to stay here at the last second after our travel plans changed. Never stayed at an Omni but always heard they were nice. Couldn't have asked for more. Great rate in the perfect location in the heart of the Gaslamp District. If you want to stay in the heart of San Diego close to everything, this is where you want to stay. Outstanding staff and accommodations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I agree with all who have described the Omni as great, wonderful and excellent. Quiet -- we got a room on the side that doesn't face the train. We had a window that opens! Great beds/bedding. Clean. Fast new-ish elevators (compared to some luxury hotels that forgot to upgrade the elevators). Nice hallways.

Don't assume the restaurant will be too expensive -- I had a very good veggie omelette for 10.99, and with excellent service. There's also a coffee shop in the lobby.

The pool area is beautiful and includes a hot tub. I didn't use the workout room, which is near the pool area -- it seemed good to me but I'm not a gym expert.

Overall, I would recommend the Omni and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side that doesn't face the train tracks.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel was excellent in everyhing. The decor in the lobby and in the room was nicely done, very fresh smell everywhere, including in the room. The room, including the bathroom, was spacious and looked very clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel housekeeper(s) were very thorough in cleaning and ensuring our stay to be a pleasant one, a home away from home. We wished that we could have stayed here longer but our schedule did not permit it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went for our 30th Anniversary and had a great time. The staff was very friendly. McCormick's was very good. We would come back to the restaurant just to eat there. I had the crab stuffed shrimp. Mouthwatering!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,950 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $172 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing