We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For Easter Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #22 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in every 4 star hotel in downtown San Diego and this is our favorite. The hotel just did a makeover with new furnishings,carpet and lcd television that makes everything fresh.The service at the hotel is prompt and friendly. The views of the bay and Coronado are fantastic. I would not hesitate to stay at his hotel time and time again, this was our 20th stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have a balcony with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaSpazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,528 - 3,534 of 4,653 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a conference at the Hard Rock, but knew I didn't want to stay there. It is an upscale large hotel in the Gaslamp Quarter providing more elegant accommodations than the Hard Rock. The Omni is just across a quiet side street, and was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank 542RobertN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I'd go 3.5 if I could, but fell just short of 4 for me. We were up on the 18th floor "with a gorgeous view of the bay" as the front desk host told us. She was right about the view, but it was fairly loud at night.

We parked literally across the street in the ACE parking garage to save a few bucks ($18/day vs. $38/day at the hotel + valet tip).

The hotel overall is clean and well kept. Friendly and helpful staff. The heated pool was nice for night swimming in chilly weather. Not much choice of eating except for McCormick and Schmick's, but it's located at the very south end of the gaslamp district with tons of food spots so no worries there (we didn't care for the room service food). Literally right next to the ballpark which was cool, and not too far from plenty to do with the kids.

The room itself was standard and walls seemed kind of thin (heard the tv next door ... among other things). Noise in fact was the main reason for my 3 rating. Recurring train horns and crossing bells from the nearby train stop. Loud music and lots of party people on Friday and Saturday night both in the hotel hallways and down below at the Gaslamp until finally dying down around 3am-ish.

For singles, couples, and friends it's great. But for families with kids that have a relatively early bedtime and/or light sleepers, you might want to at least explore some alternatives.

Room Tip: Perhaps try to ask for a room that faces east (facing the stadium and away from main gaslamp and tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

You cannot beat the location of the Omni for going to San Diego's convention center, ballpark, or the Gaslamp Quarter. All is within amazing walking distance. The hotel is a lovely design, though a little more average in the guestrooms, which don't feel especially San Diego, but which are spacious and comfortable nonetheless. As others have mentioned, the bathroom, which ours was a good size, was a little difficult for 2 people as there is no countertop. But the shelving was nice, and the shower was good. Very good staff, and they accommodated our request for a late check-out. The restaurant is a bit pricey for a breakfast, expect $25 or so, but it was lovely for dinner, including the wonderful patio. I would very definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodToGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The location is terrific, right at the edge on the Gas Lamp District. The room looked brand new. Comfy bed. Great view from the 15th floor. The room service food was amazingly delicious! The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The bathroom design is a little different, as there is no vanity, just a sink, but it was very well done none the less. The Broken Yolk restaurant is the best place for breakfast, just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Heaping portions of delicious food. There are countless other wonderful restaurants close by and if gourmet dining is your thing, the Gas Light District is sure to please.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an upper floor for the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveWhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Without doubt, the best hotel I downtown San Diego. Very nice rooms and a very large pool area. Staff are very friendly.

Weak points:
bathroom design. Small baths and a design appropriate only to the singe traveller. The partition between bathroom and bedroom is not solid and could cause private issues, even for the most intimate couples!

The attached restaurant is pretty poor, particularly for breakfast. Much better to walk up 7th to the Broken Yoke breakfast restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view, but are subject to the twin tracks (local and cargo) below. View v. Quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Omni San Diego was a great option for us! We have a 3-year old child and she loved the special treatment. She received a goody bag at check-in and milk and cookies delivered to the room on the first night. As a member of Omni's loyalty program, we received a complimentary beverage delivered to our room each morning and free internet access. The bed was very comfortable and the shower pressure was amazing! The location is superb and within walking distance of so many great restaurants. The trolley is also right behind the Omni, but we never heard it from our room which was located on the same side of the hotel as the tracks. The pool bar/dining was rolled out and available on the Saturday we visited. The cheese and fruit plate was huge, especially given that it was only $10! And the fruits and cheeses were so fresh. We ordered room service for our last dinner in San Diego and we were not disappointed. The food arrived on time and was hot and delicious! Lastly, park in the garage across the street. It is $17/day vice the $38/day charge for the valet parking (but this is common anywhere in the Gaslamp Quarter area). When we have occasion to visit San Diego again, the Omni will be our first choice!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rich Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#29 of 286 in San Diego
5,560 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,185 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $191 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing