We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #21 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My room was a bit noisy early in the morning due to poor insulation of the windows. Otherwise, everything was perfect! The ocean view was beautiful. The restaurant is also excellent, and reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,499 - 3,505 of 4,587 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife booked the Omni as part a weekend of birthday celebration treats for me, and on arrival we were offered the upgrade a suite for $100 (Suite 635) which we decided on taking as it also had a private patio area with the room.
From discussion with the receptionist, and saying it was a birthday booking we were surprised when a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were delivered to our room about half an hour later. For this the Hotel receives full points for service. Thank you!

Our only point which many hotels seem to suffer from was the shower, the suite which it appeared was also designed for disabled access had the worst shower we have had the displeasure to use for many hotel visits... the water pressure appeared to be extremely low and perhaps was like the amount of rain seen in California during the summer. Whether an eco-drive to save water is being made i doubt, otherwise a sign perhaps would have let us know.

However overall we like the hotel, and especially the service offered by the staff with a smile.

I write a separate review of the McCormick & Schmick's on site restaurant... but as a taster for those staying there i would not recommend especially as the Gaslamp district holds a huge choice of places to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nothing to add, it is the Omni...staff from doorman, desk, concierge, store, bar, provide excellent service and location all top notch. My favorite place to stay when in SD as it is so convenient to everything.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week, very convenient location for the gaslamp district, stadium, anywhere accessible on the trolley system. I had a wonderful room on a corner on an upper floor and the view, while on one side showing the rail trolley yard, was pretty good. There is a trolley stop right beside the hotel and a main station a few blocks away, on the other side of the stadium which is right next door. Housekeeping and service were good, didn't eat at the restaurant, there are many choices nearby. There was nothing wrong with the room, however if you discount the view, the rooms and especially the bathroom are nicer at the Omni San Francisco. The wifi worked well. The only issue I had was the robes, I am not slim and I am not tall, but to me the robes were for children. In contrast the robes at Omni San Francisco were very nice, I even briefly considered purchasing one, which made the ones in San Diego more disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCPOPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The bell service was outstanding! I was attending convention & their assistance was invaluable. They were very prompt & efficient including taking me by wheelchair to convention center every day. The room had just been remodeled & everything was new. For business travel I can't say enough positive things about the friendly & helpful Omni staff!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

San Diego is a beautiful city and this hotel is convenient to the gaslamp district and the convention center. The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean. The beds are very comfortable and there is lots of shelf space in the bathroom. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkermabon, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear "HF99,"
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your 5-star review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and felt our team of service professionals were helpful. Many would agree that San Diego is a beautiful destination, myself included.

We hope your travel plans bring you back to our city and that we are fortunate enough to welcome you back to the Omni San Diego if your travel plans allow it.

Best regards,

Thomas Kermabon
Director of Operations
Omni San Diego Hotel
(619) 645-6530

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Perfect hotel to stay at for an event at the convention center. Convenient to the downtown area - Gaslamp District has a little to offer everyone. Lots of restaurants, eclectic little shops, all within a few blocks. The staff at the hotel were great, easy check in/out. Restaurant on site perfect for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balaczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 286 in San Diego
5,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $188 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing